Saeng-il


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
June 4th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Awkward picAwkward picAwkward pic

They did give me a cake at work....ususally it intended to be a little "suprise" between classes where they wheel it in and turn off the lights and sing to you before your next class starts. I had to kind of ignore the cake sitting vacantly beside for the whole break as all the staff got called upstairs to break up a fight one of MY kids was in during break time. It's the thought that counts....damn kids lol
So while my brother and my father were basking in the California sun I too was taking in the joy that is a summer day in an amusement park. In all fairness, Disneyland IS slightly more exciting, slightly more "magical" than Everland, but this could be the childhood memories I have to create this highly exaggerted perception of DIsneyland as the be all and end all of childish fantasy. Though it wasn't "the be all and end all", Everland offered its own menagerie of delights for me to sink my teeth into for the best day of the year. With descriptions of rides verging on the obscure ("a fun ride on a dragon flying excitingly!"), to slight variations of somewhat familiar children's characters (the flume ride features a set of pelicans hanging out in sailor outfits looking remarkably like Donald Duck....."DOnald Pelican" I suppose), and the most amazing and fabulous suprise of all.......LIGERS!!!! (to those Napolean Dynamite lovers out there, the Liger's pretty much my favorite animal). It was a GORGEOUS Korean afternoon, with glorious humidity and an almost blue sky, I couldn't have asked for a better day. And an evening (and later, a full afternoon slash evening once again
roadsignroadsignroadsign

It is tradition in my family to freak out as soon as we start to see the "roadsigns" on the highway towards Disneyworld....this is for you Kyle...and yes, I was freaking out
the next day) at my favorite bar in the whole damn world with great people and 'scenary', couldn't have asked for a better family and friends excluded birthday. It'll do, I tell you, it'll do (a single tear runs down my cheek....that ones for you Kyle, though I know you are probably having the time of your life on the Tower of Terror. Ride it proud for me my brother!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Coconut StandCoconut Stand
Coconut Stand

In the Philippines we spent 4 damn days trying to find somebody that would make a fruity dirnk in a coconut for Trav...here they have stands all over the freaking place
Ready for a RollercoasterReady for a Rollercoaster
Ready for a Rollercoaster

Ally and I await our impending doom
Stampede Midway, Korean styleStampede Midway, Korean style
Stampede Midway, Korean style

They had girls in cowgirl outfits dancing (flailing) to fast "rodeo" dance music...I can't BELIEVE they dragged me on this metallic mass of insanity....I screamed the whole time, it was awesome
Oh KoreansOh Koreans
Oh Koreans

now that's a headband buddy
Kate and JennyKate and Jenny
Kate and Jenny

I'm so glad they decided to come


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb