Cup Fever


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
May 23rd 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Predrinks at the RockyPredrinks at the RockyPredrinks at the Rocky

As if we would go anywhere else
OK, so in reality I know absolutely NOTHING about International soccer. My knowledge, though limited, of sport is pretty much relevant to the NHL, and maybe some little league sports in my home town. But, nonetheless, I am a sports fan all the way. There is something so pure and raw about the passion behind a game. It is powerful and consequential, and yet one can really let it go in the end. WIn or lose, it is not "real life" (and yes, I am a passionately devoted team fan, and I understand this is not COMPLETELY true...but there is always next year, as painful as those words may be). But people become so intimate in a setting such as this. It is a powerful, fascinating thing, and I love every bit of it. I had never been to a live "soccer game" before, not like this. And it was a friendly match, and not even a particularly good one at that. Regardless, it was a fabulous way to spend a Tuesday night. AHHHH Pilsen Korea!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

JerkJerk
Jerk

I was kind enought to Give Corry some Flames thundersticks, and he decides it is appropriate to make a rude gesture. Yes, I realize my timing is bad in light of "his team's" recent success (Oilers suck), but a little sensitivity would have been nice
On the trainOn the train
On the train

This was moments before the real crowd formed. The way back was the difinitive horror story you hear about Korea...shoving you like sardines with sticks until your faces press up to the window and you gasp for air..
The World Cup Stadium..packed houseThe World Cup Stadium..packed house
The World Cup Stadium..packed house

Korea and Senegal...turns out Senegal ain't too bad
Calgary Represent!Calgary Represent!
Calgary Represent!

The thunder sticks came in handy, too bad I couldn't use them to cheer for the boys
Postgame drinking at the RockyPostgame drinking at the Rocky
Postgame drinking at the Rocky

....sigh.....I know I know, get a life. The comedians at the table next to us kept us there til 2...WAY past my bedtime on a school night


Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 75; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb