Overslept and overwhelmed


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
May 2nd 2006
Published: May 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's noon and I just got out of bed...

Yes, my first night in Korea I overslept. Well, I'll blame the jetlag and the long day yesterday.

The trip went well...I managed to get a couple of hours sleep on the KLM 747...maybe thanks to the nice chilean 50/50% Cabernet-Merlot I had before hitting the sack. Anyway, it took some time to get through customs...three forms to fill out and stamps to collect...very German... So, I was a bit late as I finally made it to the waiting lounge. I recognized Hyojoo right away and we went for a coffee. Was really nice to see her again!

She took me to her apartment in Seoul where her friend Sookie waited. She had come up from Pusan over the weekend and was going back later that day. We did some grocery shopping and had some dinner on the floor before taking the short tour of the neighborhood. Hyojoo lives in a business part of Seoul called Mapu-Dong...Dong means "area"...in a house where it feels like you're about to find your car parked on the other side of the rusty massive steel door after you've gone through the old concrete staircase leading up to it. Inside it's real nice though, but the ceiling is lower than what I'm used to. Luckilly I'm not very tall.

Even though it was a holiday yesterday, Hyojoo's boss who knew she had out of town visitors, had called earlier and told her she had to come and work for a couple of hours in the afternoon...welcome to the Korean working culture. So I went for a coffee and interesting conversation with Sookie while Hyojoo went to save the face of her comapany.

After she got out, we went for some delicious sushi and went downtown to drop off Sookie at the Seoul station. Had to switch cabs since the first guy drove in circles while pumping the gas like crazy...the second one was both nice and a more smooth driver. We continued around the downtown area...lots of neon, karaoke outside, street vendors with delicious food...and finally ended up at some coffee place where we had great catch-up chats and terrible coffee until late in the night.

Today I plan to go to Yongsan electronics market and buy a new digicam. 5000 electronic shops in a dozen buildings should be enough I hope to find what I want.

Time to go get a shower on the bathroom floor!

Take care 😊

/M

Advertisement



2nd May 2006

post valborg
Hej Magnus! Later som resan borjat bra, skont att hora att tyska traditioner finns aven utanfor mellaneuropa. Jag kom just tillbaks till lule dar snon fortfarande ligger pa marken, ie, njut av sydligare breddgrader! Valborg i uppsala var kalas som vanligt, attans bara att tiden gar sa fort nar man har roligt. Fortsatt ha det gott!
2nd May 2006

Fotboll
Tjena Owama! Later som om du har läget under kontroll. Maste dock vara tungt att missa superettanupptakten. Degen leder i 60:de minuten med 1-0 mot Atvidaberg efter drömmal av Drugge, Kabous tillbaka i truppen! Ha det gött och hall oss uppdaterade när det gäller jobbet.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb