Seoul Food and More


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 15th 2010
Published: October 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I apologize for not posting any new entries during my stay in Seoul but we have been going non-stop since we arrived and I've finally found a little time to post my last blog 😞 I'll try to keep it short and sweet and let the pictures speak for themselves. Most of our time here has been spent shopping which is absolutely out of control! Shops stay open until 5am and streets are lined with vendors and all sorts of amazing street food (dakbogi!). Forget New York being the city that doesn't sleep Seoul truly doesn't and I haven't slept much either since I've been here, running low on fumes as we speak so bear with me! However, we did take some time off to do other things besides shop such as visiting ancient palaces, the Korean Folk Village, and the DMZ. The DMZ is one of the most surreal places I have ever been to. The situation between the North and South is very sad. Families were torn, including mine, and the people trapped there live in slavery and fear. All we can do is hope for peace and that one day all of Korea will be unified. I'm glad my grandfather was able to escape and create the wonderful family I was able to spend the past two weeks with. All I can say is this trip has been one of the greatest experiences in my life. My family is one of the most important things in my life so never having met my mother's side has always bothered me and I'm so grateful that I was finally able to do so. Besides getting to know my family I've also discovered more of my culture and life as a Korean than I've ever known before and it's been incredible. It was a little tough at times, getting used to life on the floor from eating to sleeping as well as experiencing many new and interesting foods but that's what travel and culture is all about. These past two weeks have flown by and I'm sad that I have to return to the other side of the world, 13 hours behind, without knowing when I'll be able to return. I hope that one day all of you may experience something new and interesting that opens your eyes to a whole new world because it really is an amazing world out
Street Food!Street Food!Street Food!

Hot dog deep fried and covered with fries...why didn't we think of that?!
there, come see for yourself!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Ancient PalaceAncient Palace
Ancient Palace

sorry forgot the name!
Ancient PalaceAncient Palace
Ancient Palace

The 3 stooges!
DMZDMZ
DMZ

Prayer ribbons of hope for reunification
DMZDMZ
DMZ

Prayer ribbons
ObservatoryObservatory
Observatory

Telescopes to view North Korea
Asian tricks!Asian tricks!
Asian tricks!

My silly uncle.


15th October 2010

Christina, awesome. I wish I was there. Love ya, dad.
19th October 2010

Comi ng Home
Looks like you had a great time. Im so glad you had the opportunity to meet all of your family. Hope you have safe trip back home to the states. Love ya!

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb