Seoul lantern festival


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 15th 2009
Published: November 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This will be a short entry, it's more about the pictures than anything.

This was a great weekend. Let me start by saying there is a serious cold front right now so the HIGH all weekend was about 36 degrees F. AAAAH! Anyhow, I had a rather uneventful week, nothing good or bad. I’m having a blast teaching my kids “Jingle bell rock” for the Christmas show. The accompanying dance is adorable and the kids are really enjoying themselves which makes me happy.

What have I been up to? Well last Sunday I went to trivia with some friends. It was fun, don’t think I want to make it a weekly thing though. We did come in 2nd and there was an Abnormal psych category, which made me happy. I’ve been going to my friend’s weekly dinners at her house for the past 2 weeks and I’m loving it! She’s an awesome cook and I love having something nice and mellow to do on Wednesday evenings. Thursday 5 of us went bowling. It’s places like bowling alleys or movie theaters that I forget, for a moment, that I’m in Korea.

Now on to the weekend… So the plan was to go to the lantern festival, get a love motel in Hongdae so we can go out and not have to cab it back to Bundang, and then get brunch on Sunday. We searched for a love motel before the lantern festival and it took a while to find one. We ended up getting 2 rooms because we couldn’t find a place with 2 beds. Boo! Then we headed to the lantern festival. It was freezing but so nice to walk around and see all the pretty lanterns. We originally wanted to eat Mexican food but that didn’t happen, we ended up eating at Bennigans, which made me feel yucky later but I was happy to have a cream-based soup. Yum. We then went to a Hof, had some soju, and went to a bar. At some point we noticed that it was SNOWING. Nothing crazy, but I was still ecstatic to see snow. I practically fell asleep around 3am while we were out, so we headed back. Today we went to the Flying Pan for brunch, which wasn’t as great as people had made it seem. First of all, they don’t even have hash browns or anything with potatoes to accompany the eggs. What kind of a brunch is that?

Random funny story: On Saturday we were taking the subway somewhere. While we were waiting 2 Korean men take pictures with us, hmm OK. I've had that happen before. Then we get on the subway and they give each of us a little spray bottle of "energizing spray" that pruports to be non poisonous. They continue taking pictures of us and with us on the subway. Then one of the men decides to show us how to use this energizing spray, and sprays the back of Jen's neck, followed by Margaret's. Then he moves on to Alison and me and we quickly motion NO and Ali says "kanchanayo" (no thank you). We were spared. Later that evening Margaret's neck broke out in a rash.

Nothing else exciting to report. Not going to trivia tonight. The countdown to vacation and Alex getting here has begun. Woo hoo!



Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb