Random Acts of Kindness


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 1st 2006
Published: November 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On my first day of teaching here in Seoul, I took my laptop with me on the bus, planning to show pictures to my students during my self-introduction. On the bus, I spotted an 8-year-old kid with his dad and asked if he was going to the same school I was. When he replied yes, I immediately fixated on him and made sure that any movement he made toward the door would be followed with a copycat movement of my own. I was sweating a bit in my business suit, and when I saw him make that long anticipated movement to exit the bus, my laptop remained where I left it, on the floor by my seat. As soon as I got off the bus and it pulled away, my heart started pounding with the realization of what I had just done. I entered the school and mumbled greetings to the teachers. It was unlikely, however, that they realized anything was wrong. In the staff room, I fervently tried to explain the situation to the head teacher, filling in English for all the words that I didn't know in Korean (roughly 103.7 percent of them), but in the end, he stated either: "I am glad you are enjoying your first day" or "I hope you enjoy the raw octopus with screaming tentacles with lunch".
Feeling frustrated and helpless, I waited for Mrs. Chang, the English teacher, to arrive. At that point I rushed through another set of greetings so I could tell her what happened. After asking me a few pointed questions about colors and model, she made a series of phone calls to the bus authorities. Fifteen minutes later she received a call saying that my laptop was at the lost and found office (hopefully in the "found" part). When we went to pick it up, Mrs. Chang ("please call me Mrs. Chang") and I, she bought chocolates for the L and F guys. I would add "before I had a chance to do so", but we all know that wouldn't be particularly accurate. At the office, basically a shack with a bunch of unwanted junk, I immediately spotted my computer case and practically ran to hug it. Despite amazing force of will, I resisted the impulse.
Mrs. Chang brings up my neglectfulness sometimes, but always in good humor. Her kindness continues to amaze and astound me. Recently, I complained that the ongoing construction of a shopping mall across the street from my high rise was waking me up every morning at the ungodly hour of six. She promptly called the construction company to complain. This effort was not as successful as the one to retrieve my laptop, but she approached it with equal diligence. I am sure that it made the company secretary's day.
Another time, I was walking home with my friend Annie in the pouring rain, when we realized we had been walking in circles for quite some time. We hastily stopped a passerby to ask him for directions. Instead of just telling us, he proceeded to walk with us all the way to the subway station, sharing his umbrella with us for protection from the elements.
At the summit of a mountain near Seoul, my friend Cerina and I stood around trying to figure out the best way to walk down. A Korean noticed our consternation and quickly offered to lead the way. Slowing down his pace considerably for us, he led us all the way down the mountain, showing us its hidden features, including a small shrine on the hillside and paintings carved in the mountainside. If not for To Kwang Soo, we might still be on top of the mountain. I thought I saw a wolf too, but that might have just been my overeager imagination.
In addition to the grapes I mentioned last time, teachers have given me pears, oranges, sushi, and pizza among other Korean delicacies (the pizza was grilled potato with avocado dressing). Before a holiday, the principal gave me a bunch of pears, which were each several times the size of my fist. The assistant principal saw what he had done and rushed to give me a box of apples, these twice as big as an American one. I try to pay for things (like when my cooperating teacher takes me out to eat), but I never succeed. Yes, I do try to pay (well, sometimes). Inertia is a powerful thing. Suffice to say, Koreans, rich or poor, old or young, are quite a generous lot. They will move mountains for you and never ask for anything in return. It is something we all can learn from.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb