A Normal Life


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Seodaemun-gu » Sinchon
December 6th 2009
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: I can't keep up! 22 secs
Hello everyone! I know it has been a long time since I've updated my journal about my time in Korea. Lately life has been a little hectic and difficult to find time to sit down and type out everything about what has been happening. I will try and write more and shorter entries so everyone can keep up. I've been doing a lousy job of that lately but I promise to improve on it. Let me know what you think. I hope everyone is doing fine and is enjoying their lives.

Out of the Game

The past few days have been very slow. As most of you already know, I had surgery a few days ago for a condition that recurred during past few months due to straining of my abdomen most likely from breakdancing. I was reluctant to do the surgery in Korea simply because I knew it would take time to recover, meaning that I would be stuck in my room for about a week. It is very difficult for me to stay in one place for a very long time, however, the doctor, Lee Sang Hoon, told me it would be wise to fix the problem as soon as possible. Even with this advice, I tried to last as long as I can. 2 weeks later, after one day not even being able to stand straight, I decided to have the operation. In the morning my friend Yongsu took me to the hospital where they told me the surgery would take between 1 to 2 hours and that I would need to stay in the hospital for at least one night. They gave me my room, my gown, and my bed. By then it was time to go to the operating room.

I wasn't too nervous in the beginning because I knew from the past that they would put me to sleep and I would not feel a thing till I woke up in the afternoon. When I walked into the operating room however, I did not see the anesthesia set-up. I asked the nurse in broken Korean; "언제자다?" which literally translates into: "when to sleep?" The nurse quietly laughed at told me "No, no sleep." "?!?!" This is the moment I began to feel nervous. The anesthesiologist came in, gave me a numbing shot to my spine, and quickly left. The effect was almost instantaneously. In a few minutes I lost all control over my lower body. The nurses covered my face with a blue tarp, turned on soothing music, and prepared me for the doctor.

This may sound disturbing at first, but when the doctor made the incision with his mini saw, I felt it going inside my body, but it did not hurt at all. Even when their hands were in my body grabbing my organs, it was more like a soft feeling than pain. It was pretty strange at first but I soon got used to it. I just laid back and enjoyed the music. Even the doctor and nurses made jokes and laughed happily on the other side of the tarp. After surgery the nurses wheeled me back to my room where the real horror began. "Laying in the same spot for 12 hours?!" For anyone who knows me well, they know it is very hard for me to be inactive for long. The journey began and all I could remember thinking was when the next hour would pass.

In the end I realized that the 12 hours in bed wasn't too bad. My friend Yongsu stayed with
Modern StreetModern StreetModern Street

It's hard to feel like you're in ancient times when there are places like this right outside the palace
me for about 4 hours. Then my roommate, Frank, came to take over. He stayed by my bed for more than 18 hours in total! Besides the coin operated tv he had very little to do. Na Young, my good friend, brought me orange juice and even James, Jaye and Patricia brought me snacks to keep me busy. I felt like a little kid when they were feeding me in bed 😊 It was really nice though. They even brought me a little yellow flower that is in front of me now haha. Brian also came and helped me to drink water and call the nurse whenever the pain grew stronger.

Finally! 12 hours passed and I was allowed to lift my head. By this time I didn't want to get out of bed. I slept for another 10 hours while Frank slept on the make-shift mattress to my side. In the morning I was discharged and went home with my roommate and Johnny. It has been 3 days since the surgery and I am still finding it hard to walk. Yesterday was the first time I had not left the dorms for an entire day. On the other
Me and Hong on HalloweenMe and Hong on HalloweenMe and Hong on Halloween

(Even I don't know what I am) She's Hermoine
hand, being unable to get far hasn't been all bad. I realized that I have made a lot of great friends here who tend to be more worried about me than I am about myself! I am really grateful for them, especially my roommate who stayed at the hospital for nearly as long as I did. I am going to miss these guys after they leave at the end of the semester. Only 2 weeks left! 😞

This has been the direction of my life. I am beginning to feel as though Sinchon is my real home. Over the past few months the emotion of living in another country has had its ups and downs. First was the excitement of a new life. The second, being homesick from not seeing my friends, family, and of course home-cooked Indian food back home. Now, I am at the stage where even though I miss all these things the same, this place is very comfortable for me. I am truly thankful I can have this experience.

That's it for now! I hope everyone enjoyed this entry. I hope everyone is doing well. Here are some random pictures of where I have been spending my days:


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Aunt Annie'sAunt Annie's
Aunt Annie's

I can't believe it's here!
EwhaEwha
Ewha

Trust me, not everywhere in Korea is like this
PrankPrank
Prank

(I thought my roommate was dead -_-)
Interviewing the kidsInterviewing the kids
Interviewing the kids

This was probably the only time they sat still


6th December 2009

Very xciting
Did u know u r a great writer. Thanks for sharing your xperience. We've been thinking of you the whole time. "TRY" and get some rest. I still remember the hand walk u & Colter at home and now u r in Korea doind break dancing. wow! V enjoyed the pics.
6th December 2009

Hi Ramesh, interesting reading. Glad you are feeling okay. Can tell by those blue-tinted glasses. The trees look stunningly beautiful. Take care of your health and don't get sick again. Surgeries are always scarry. We are going to miss you thlis Christmas. Take care love, auntie
6th December 2009

Can't wait to see you!
Ramesh! I really really really miss you! It's hard to sit around these days thinking you're somewhere in another continent. I know it must be hard for you to get ready to say bye to your friends, but everyone at home can't wait for your arrival. I was wondering when you'd post up another blog. Glad you made some time. I hope you're feeling better from your surgery. The way you were describing it just shocked me, but it sounds like you handled it very well. If it was me I'd be totally different. This blog was great as were all the others. I love the pictures and that you posted a video of your kids. The kids are sooo cute and might I say very stylish? They all have such nice coats. Hahaha. The girl dressed as Minnie Mouse is adorable. I wish my parents dressed me like that when I was little. The picture of the boy that you can't help but laugh at is adorable too! He looks so cool in his black coat. Well give me a call or a text when you're back in town. I'll be alert for more blogs. Take care and Happy Holidays!
6th December 2009

hello
Hi Ramash. Good to read your comments. Mummy told me about your surgery. Happy to read you are doing better. Great to read you have made some wonderful friends. Those littles kids are so adorable. Have a wonderful time. We'll are thinking of you and praying for you. Love, Pathu chithy.
7th December 2009

Dude I can't believe you had to have surgery in a foreign country. At least you weren't in some third world country or something lol. I like how you act like its sooo hard for you to stay in the same spot for hours, as if you haven't spent that much time playing video games - zelda? smash? haha yeah I think so. Ok man well get some rest, I gotta get back to studying for finals =/
8th December 2009

Man, it seems like you are having the time of your life! Wish I could have been there, too! I'm off for Finals soon so take care and keep this blog up. You're doing a great job :)

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb