Day 1 - Day 8


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Insadong
June 29th 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

English below.

Hallo

,

Soweit habe ich Seoul wirklich genossen. Nachts ist es am schoensten. Es sieht aus wie Chinatown in London ist jedoch viel bunter und größer. Es war eine gute Idee meine Reise in Südkorea anzufangen. Hier ist es sicher, Internet-Verbindung ist fantastisch, alle Leute sind sehr freundlich, die englische Sprache findet man hier ueberall, der Standard von Jugenherbergen ist um einiges besser als in London......usw. Es had endlos viele Pluspunkte fuer den 'First time traveller'.


Die Jugendherberge befindet sich zentral 'Downtown' Seoul (im Norden vom Fluss) in der Nähe von allen Haupt-Attraktionen. Soweit habe ich die folgenden Attraktionen besucht: Gyeongbokgung und Changdeokgung Palast, Biwon Garten, Insa-Pimmel-Bezirk, Myeong-Pimmel-Bezirk, Seoul Turm, Olympischer Park, Bukhansan Nationaler Park, DMZ und viele andere Bezirke.

Höhepunkte bis jetzt waren Bukhansan National Park und die Entmilitarisierte Zone zwischen Nord und Süd Korea.

Koreaner lieben wandern. Gemaeß meinem Reisehandbuch gibt es 17 National Parks in Suedkorea. Bukhansan National Park wird am haeufigsten besucht, da er neben Seoul liegt.
Als ich dort war hab ich bestimmt an die 5 kg abgenommen. Es hat 2,5 Stunden gedauert um eine der Spitzen zu erreichen und 1,5 Stunden um zurückzuwandern. Um zur Spitze zu gelangen muss man sich an einem Seil hochziehen. Dies war mehr klettern ohne Ausruestung als wandern. :-)

Heute ging ich mit USO (amerikanisches Reiseunternehmen) zur DMZ und JSA (Gemeinsames Sicherheitsgebiet zwischen Sued und Nord Korea). Ich stand in Nordkorea an der Grenzlinie, die die Halbinsel teilt. Es war sehr beeindruckend den KPA Soldaten zu beobachten. Er stand ungefähr 200m weg von uns. Die amerikanischen Soldaten schienen ein bisschen nervoes zu sein, da wir Donner hörten, jedoch waren sich die Soldaten nicht 100% sicher ob es wirklich Donner war. In den letzten 50 Jahren hat sich einiges in der DMZ ereignet und die Geschichten über Nordkorea sind ziemlich interessant. Ich wuerde auf jeden eine gute Dokumentation empfehlen, sollte sich die Moeglichkeit ergeben.

Nun koreanisches Verhalten ist sehr witzig. Ich werde hier nur ein paar Dinge erwaehnen.

1. Es ist gegen hoefliche Manieren die Nase öffentlich zu putzen, jedoch siehst du viele Maenner die Ihren gruenen Schleim hochziehen und einfach ueberall auf die Straß spucken.

2. Es ist schlampisch wenn man armlose tops traegt, jedoch siehst du 60% der koreanischen Frauen mit Hotpants die fast den Arsch zeigen.

3. Die Frauen tragen Stoeckelschuh ueberall hin. Stoeckelschuh mit denen man normalerweise ausgeht. Ich hörte sogar, dass einige Frauen so wandern gehen. Verrückt!!

Ich konnte immer weiter schreiben, um über all meine Erfahrungen zu berichten, die ich in den letzten 8 Tagen erlebt habe, aber ich denke, dass es genug ist.

Ich werde bald wieder schreiben.








Hello All

,

The more I think about it the more difficult it will become to remember all my experiences and to share them with you all. Catching up on email with everyone individually will be too much, so I've decided for the travel blog despite some concerns I have.

I can submit public as well as private blogs and you can also send me messages on here. I've sent you the website link per email; please pass it on to those that are interested.

To date I've really enjoyed Seoul. It's beautiful at night. It's a bit like Chinatown but a lot brighter and larger. I've realised that starting in South Korea was a very good idea, although I didn't even think about that when I was planning my trip. It is safe, internet connectivity is fantastic, people are friendly and welcoming, the English language is well spread, standard of hostels is better than in London,......It has endless plus points for a first time traveller.
On the contrary, I was thinking why did I go to Seoul to start with as I went from a 24/7 city to another. But I'll be moving to the west coast tomorrow. I'm sure the minute I'll see the ocean all 'busy city thoughts' will be gone.

I'm staying very central in 'Downtown' Seoul (north of the river) close to all main tourist attractions. I've visited Gyeongbokgung and Changdeokgung Palace, Biwon garden, Insa-dong district, Myeong-dong district, Seoul Tower, Olympic Park, Bukhansan National Park, DMZ and many other districts.

Highlights so far are definitely Bukhansan National Park and the Demilitarised Zone.

Koreans love hiking. According to my guide book they have 17 national parks. Bukhansan National Park is the most visited as it is adjacent to Seoul.
I must have lost 5kg when I hiked. It took me 2,5hours to reach one of the peaks and 1,5h to get back. Getting up to the peak, I felt like I was climbing the mountain, but according to Koreans this was just hiking.

Today,
North Korean flagpoleNorth Korean flagpoleNorth Korean flagpole

This is in the guinness world record book as the highest flagpole (160m).
I went with USO (American Tour operator) to the DMZ and JSA (Joint Security Area). I actually stood in North Korea, past the border line that divides the peninsula. It was pretty impressive watching the KPA soldier, who stood about 200m away from us. The American soldiers seemed to be a bit on edge as we heard thunder, but they weren't 100% sure that it was thunder. What has happened in the DMZ in the last 50 years and the stories about North Korea are pretty impressive. If you ever get a chance to watch a documentary, watch it!

I think it would be worth mentioning what Korean people are like. Funny crowd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Three things:
1. They find it rude when you blow your nose in public, but you hear men gurgle their mucus and spit it anywhere on the road.

2. Your are looked at with disgust when you wear sleeveless tops, but wearing hot pants that almost show your arse is fine.

3. All women wear high heels all the time in Seoul. Heels that you would normally wear out, they go walking in. How can they do this to their feet? I even
Biwon GardenBiwon GardenBiwon Garden

...where the King looked for inspiration....
heard that some women hike like that. Crazy!!

I could carry on and on to write about all the experiences I had in the last 8 days, but I think that is enough for now.

I'll be writing soon again.




Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Cheonggyecheon stream Cheonggyecheon stream
Cheonggyecheon stream

Man-made stream, completed in 2005.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb