Visiting Monks


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Insadong
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MonksMonksMonks

And our group who visit them
So every once in a while I go to a temple in Seoul with a group of friends to visit some monks. Mostly Myeong dukk(monk), which is a monks name and "dukk" means monk. Sonali randomly found this place and befriended this one monk who keeps inviting her and her friends back. Today we went and talked with some foreign monks from the USA who are being officially ordained tomorrow morning (Thursday morning) as monks. It was great being able to talk with them about Zen buddhism. Their practice generally is different from the one in korea even though their teacher is korean-american. I've been interested in how the Buddhism here differs from other Buddhisms, but haven't been able to find a clear answer. I know some of the rituals and practices they do and they call it Zen but I don't know how it compares.

It was kind of hard to talk to the visiting monks because I always got the feeling of being talked down to. With the monks here they never seem to talk down, but more talk to and were willing to discuss topics without any sort of arrogance. The difference may have to do with culture as well as the different lifestyles that monks in korea and monks in the united states are expected to have. The monks that were going to be ordained will go back and live normal lives, working, having a family, while being a monk. The ones here live in the temple and have a life more dedicated solely to the practice. I'm not saying one way is better than the other, I actually don't really know what I am trying to say. I think I forgot my point. ^^ Anyways, it's always relaxing and humbling to visit them. When they invite us they usually feed us delicious vegetarian monk food and only ask that we finish it all. We can join in prayer and meditation with them when we want to and they only ask for us to wear socks. I love getting to know their wonderful personalities. I only wonder if there are difference between being a monk in the city and a monk out in the country (like at the temple stay). How does it affect their personal practice? Does being in the city make it more accessible to others? Is it harder to find peace? Maybe that is something else I should ask them.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb