Achasan, Yongmasan and Mangusan


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gwangjin-gu
April 26th 2015
Published: May 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

A trio of mountains. I have previously hiked Yongmasan, many, many years ago, and when I did that hike, we had wanted to tack Achasan on to it, but couldn't find our way, so had to give up. However, this time I would start at Achasan to make sure I got there. Achsan, Yongmasan and Mangusan were all collectively called Mt. Acha or Achasan until the Joseon dynasty. So hopefully I would be able to tackle all three without too much difficulty. I took the subway to Achasan station. The blogs I had read about getting to the mountain form the subway station made it seem quite difficult, but I think I followed the directions from 10 magazine and it was pretty simple. And if you are there at the weekend, you can just follow the hordes of other people that are there. It didn't take too long to reach the park area at the start of the trail. The park was really busy with lots of people hiking and just relaxing in the beautiful weather.

I walked through the park, which was full of beautiful flowers. I found the start of the trail, there were quite a few different trails that people can take. I opted for the one to Achasan. The fortress built along Achasan played an important role in the history of Korea. The forts were built as army installations to use as a forward base for advancing to the Namhan river during the reign of King Jangsu during the Goguryeo period. They were used from 475 to 551 AD, when Gugoryeo were forced to retreat by the Baekje and Silla dynasties. It held a strategic position for Gugoryeo, who wanted to advance south letting them look out over Baekje land and was the site of a ferocious battle during the Three Kingdom period. Also during this period the Han River basin was a very important transportation route for the Baekje and Silla dynasties. Unlike mountain fortress, where civilians lived and worked, these forts were built specifically to watch the area and monitor the enemy's movements.

The hike was pretty easy, as Achasan doesn't have a high elevation, it is only 287 metres above sea level. There is a designated trail, but lots of people were ignoring it and climbing over barriers to hike where they pleased. The remains of the forts were also fenced off, but that didn't stop people hopping the barriers to get closer to them. I can understand why people were doing it, I hopped the barrier on one, and the old forts provided a great flat picnic area. On the way up, there were some great views out of the sprawl of Seoul below, the pollution smog wasn't too bad. I never get sick of this view and it still amazes me. This hike was quite different to other ones I have done recently in and around Seoul, there was a lot of walking on smooth stone, I wonder if the rocks have always been so smooth or if it is from the many, many feet that have crossed over them. Also the trail was quite exposed, with not much tree coverage, good job I had my sun cream on. Another thing I saw, that I had totally forgotten had existed were the small trail restaurants. Some enterprising folks have lugged plastic folding table and chairs up the mountain and offer meals. A genius idea!

If there is a peak marker marking Achasan I missed it, but I think the open fort is the peak. This is a fort, that isn't blocked off that people can wander around. There is also quite a bit of information in Korean and English, that explains some of the features of the fort. There were water tanks that had been filled in to show where they had been. There was also something called a pheasant, it is a building that has some protruding rampart parts so that they can attack the enemy that are approaching the rampart form the side. Although it was cordoned off, many people were hopping the barrier to get photos of themselves and the scenery behind. The views were great from up here, and it was interesting to read about the fort.

I continued on with my walk to Yongmasan, it isn't too far from Achasan and the route isn't difficult. There were some great views of the fort on Achasan and the surrounding area. Just before you reach the peak of Yongmasan there is a small gym. It's so funny to see this gym up on the mountain. I feel sorry for the people who had to carry all the weights and equipment up. I bet they found it easy, I have enough trouble just getting my body up the mountain. The gym was packed. There were loads of old men working out. I continued up to the staircase to the peak. It was quite busy up there, and since I had been before I didn't linger, just snapped a couple of pictures of the peak marker. I wandered back down to where the gym was. An adjumma has set up a little cafe with a few tables, so I ordered an iced coffee. I needed a caffeine fix, and it was an interesting spot to sit and people watch in.

I had decided to continue on to Mangusan. The trail was mainly down hill with lots of steps. There were also quite a few vantage points, where decks had been built so people could sit down and enjoy the views. I continued onward and came across a information board, which had some trails and subway stations marked on. I decided to continue a further 5 kilometres to reach Yangwon station. I got talking to an old man, who thought I was crazy, and that I should just head down to the nearest subway, which was only about a kilometre and a half away. maybe I should have listened to him. I kept walking, this part of the trail was along tarmac roads, so it was nice and easy, and flat. The road came to a fork and I didn't know which way I should go. I decided to head uphill, as this part of the walk had a pretty name, something like the Philosopher's Way. Mangu Cemetery is situated in this area, so I took a walk amongst the graves. It was very peaceful, with not too many people about.

After coming to the end of the route through the cemetery, I came out on to the path, that people, who took the other route were on. I didn't really have a clue where I was going, so I followed the road downhill for a while, before changing my mind and heading back up to follow a trail marker that went through the forest. I decided that I would follow these route markers as they were quite pretty and see where it lead me. I came out at a water spring. I decided to take a rest there and I ate my snacks and drank my water. The spring was a small hive of activity and there were a few hikers like me stopping to take a rest and refill their water, and other people, who had brought many 2 litre water bottle to refill. I wouldn't like to be them carrying all that water down the hill.

The trail seemed to fork at the water spring, so I took the trail that was heading down. I came out on to some farmland, it was weird to still be in the city, but to be surrounded by small fields. However, there were some high rise apartment blocks within spitting distance, I wonder if I come back in ten years time if these fields will still be here. I Walked past the fields and came to a small village, which had lots of traditional old style single storey houses. They are just so cute. I walked through the village and came out on busy main road at an intersection.I was in Guri city proper now. The trail seemed to continue both left and right, since I didn't have a clue which way I was meant to head, I decided to call it a day. Luckily, I wasn't too far from a big bus stop and after

finding the right side of the road, headed back to Seoul on a bus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb