finallyinseoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam
February 26th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I’m finally in Seoul! I got in last Sunday evening after a great last weekend in Daegu. Came into Seoul and checked into my hotel. It was sweet until they told me that I could be getting a roommate so not to be surprised if someone comes in. I was just about to go to bed but the door opens and my roommate walks in. The next morning she hears my alarm go off and gets up and jumps in the shower. Whatever. She gets out of the shower and I get up and she’s standing there butt naked! WTF!!! Why do I always get the weirdos!

The past week I was for training, which was way more intense than I thought. The first day was orientation to the company and then they informed us that we’d be taking a grammar test. I haven’t studied grammar since elementary school. They go over a grammar video and hand us some materials on gerunds, clauses, and some other shit and said we would be having the test the next day. I stayed up late that night studying I felt like I was back in college. I passed thankfully. After our orientation we went to get a medical exam, and now I can say that I hope I never have to go back to a hospital in Korea. We had to get blood drawn, which the lab tech did without using any gloves. After getting my blood drawn I was told to give a urine sample in a paper cup. I had to go into the public stalls and carry my paper cup full of urine back and leave it on a cart with other urine samples. What happened to OSHA and sanitation?

The rest of the week was learning the materials and mocking in front of our classes. That went great. I got placed at the Daechi branch, which turns out to be in one of the most expensive neighborhoods. Which I kind of sucks since I’ll be paying for my apartment and I have to live a certain distance from the school. I’m going to look at apartments with the realtor on Friday. After passing my training on Friday some coworkers and I went out to get a few drinks. We ended up at a bar called Beer Angels, when we walked in the name of the bar made sense; we were at the Korean Hooters. It was a good time. And much needed after a stressful week.

Saturday night I needed to get out and away from here so one of my coworkers and I went to Itaewon not really knowing where the heck we were going, but ended up meeting some cool people while we were walking around. They showed us some fun places to go, which I’ll definitely be going back soon!

Yesterday was my first day of work and it went well. After arriving about 4 hours early to prepare, I felt ready to teach. These kids are so smart. I think they understood everything that was coming out of my mouth. Complete 180 from what I was used to. My co-workers at my branch all seem cool. Most of them are gyopos (Korean Americans) like me. It’s like we are one big family.

I feel like I’ve been out of touch with everyone the past few weeks, but that’s what’s been up with me. I am tired as hell, but personal emails to come. Sorry this wasn’t as entertaining. But things have started to calm down and I’m really enjoying living here in Seoul. I miss Daegu and the friends that I’ve made, but I’ve been meeting some amazing people here.

Peace and love
Susan


Advertisement



26th February 2008

Yeay! Glad you are back in gear... :) keep me posted. Muah!
4th April 2008

hooray
hooray! one big family! glad you're finally finding your place Susan!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb