My Date: Korea Style


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam » Samseong
January 25th 2012
Published: January 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Snow in Seoul!Snow in Seoul!Snow in Seoul!

What we saw as we left the subway!
I have a lot to catch up on here but I will start with the first eventful...er...event...that has happened to me recently. On January 24th, 2012 I had my first all-day date. My boyfriend thought it would be so much fun to meet up at 9am. 9....am....on my day off. Who thinks of such things, right? But I complied. Falling out of bed at 8:30 I got all ready and walked to the subway. It was one of the coldest days I have ever experienced. Just walking 5 minutes made my face burn with cold. Once I reached Joseph, he assured me that we would be inside the whole day, as the mall and surrounding places were connected. Was very happy at this thought. After a relaxing subway ride that lasted maybe half an hour, we reached the shopping complex that was connected to a movie theater. We had planned to see Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows, which i had been wanting to see forever. I was refusing to let it leave the theater without me seeing it. Because of this, we began the day by walking to the theater to look at movie times. To our disappointment, the first showing of our movie was at 6 pm that evening! What to do? After much discussion we decided to posibly see a different movie that was playing earlier. We were hungry at that point, so we decided to hit up KFC for their delicious chicken. The chicken is way better in Korea, fyi. Think it's the spices the add under the breading.

After an early lunch we decided to walk around the large shopping mall called Shinsegae. It is 10 floors of designer clothing and accesories from brands such as Gucci, Armani, and Cartier. Way out of my price range but it was fun to look at the pretty things I could not have. It was even more fun to just ride the escalators. After having our fill of the fabulousness, we went back to the theater. Deciding to wait until that evening to see Sherlock Holmes, we took the subway back to Gangseo-Gu (my area if you didn't know). I proceeded to Skype with my family and catch up on days events while Joseph snored on my bed. Imagine that. Mr. Early Bird.

At 4 we decided it was time to head back to the theater. After a short detour for food, we continued back to Megabox. To our disbelief that show was sold out! Couldn't believe it. All of those hours waiting and we would have to wait 2 and a half more hours for the next showing. We booked our tickets for the 8:35 show. We found a place to sit in the food court, sipped hot chocolate and had a wonderful talk about life, love, and everything in between. I learned a lot about him that day.

When it was finally time for the movie, we settled into our seats. It was so exciting to be in a theater again, as this was my first movie in months and my first Korean cinema experience. After what seemed like a million Korean commercials we enjoyed the movie. It was a humorous and action-packed film and Mr. Jude Law was amazing as always as Dr. Watson. Joseph enjoyed the movie, and who could blame him? It had explosions and fighting, which is all a guy needs to be entertained in a movie afterall. Am I wrong? Well pretty girls don't hurt either I suppose.

After the movie, Joseph offered to ride the subway with me
Good companyGood companyGood company

Probably the sweetest, kindest guys I have ever been with. <3
to Gangseo and walk me home. Due to the fact that it was New Year's Day (lunar that is), the subways were quite busy still. As we left the warmth of the subway station, we saw snow! It was the first full-on snow of the winter in that area of Korea! After taking pictures and playing in the snow, the evening ended with a farewell to Joseph at my door.

It was truly one of the best days I have had so far in Korea. Being able to spend so much time with someone I care so much about and getting to know him better was wonderful.

Until next time...farethewell!

<3


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Snow in Seoul!Snow in Seoul!
Snow in Seoul!

What we saw as we left the subway!
Good companyGood company
Good company

The sweetest and kindest guy I have ever been with. <3 :)


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb