REJECTED


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Ga Jung Gu
June 24th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was supposed to call Jin's friend Jieun yesterday about meeting up today, but I couldn't because I left her phone number at the hotel. So I called her this morning but she was in class. We eventually spoke and arranged to meet up at 2 today. I got hungry though and decided to go out and get me some food!

Went around again looking for a place to eat, but then I got really scared. It's intimidating walking into a restaurant and not knowing what to say. Walked around awkwardly, telling myself to just go in somewhere. Saw a stand on the street that had this desert-thing and got one of those. It looked like a flat roll of bread. Really thin. That was good. So I had successfully made a purchase. This gave me the confidence to go into a restaurant. So I went to this place I had my eye on because of the pancake stuff I saw outside.

I stood in the doorway, bowed at the lady, and showed her one finger--not the bad finger-- to ask for, y'know, one person. She said something I couldn't understand and reciprocated my signal back to me, but with both of her hands--fingers perpendicular to each other. I took the 'X' to mean 'You're not welcome here' or 'We don't speak English.' That was very discouraging. =[ So I completed my circle around the block and bought some more desert-like pastries from another cart on the sidewalk and went back to my room.

And now it's 2:16. I should leave soon to meet up with Jieun. I wonder what we'll do. I want to get some food. Still haven't heard back from hotels.com yet, those punks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb