One of a few installments


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me taking chargeMe taking chargeMe taking charge

I was running this ship for a solid 15 mins until my boss asked me to watch the kids
Ok - so I just spent $25 USD traveling around Seoul on a bad pronunciation…

No matter, it’s been awhile since I have written to the blog so I’m sitting in my hostel in Seoul to catch up.

Field Trip 3: Lava Tubes: A 4 kilometer cave that used to be a river of molten magma. A 2.5 mile poorly lit cave is fine but I’m in charge of the youngest unit, again it is a headache to keep the kids from falling down or running into a crevasse. The floor has been smoothed to a point but I still managed to twist both ankles and fall down. I did however, enjoyed the silence (because of the echo I threatened my students a 10 happy sticker demerit if they spoke) and the damp mysterious nature of a long underground cave. Nothing noteworthy because the visibility was about 3-4 feet.

From there we went to the Jeju Women Diver’s museum. Jeju is famous for these women that swim to the bottom of the sea and harvest the food for their families. They hold their breath for minutes at a time and grab every creature and plant and use the
VisibilityVisibilityVisibility

What we saw walking through the cave, a couple of guide lights to keep us on path
goods for food or to sell at the market. This museum was the most beautifully laid out with the most interesting interactive features. I really appreciated the decommissioned ship outside that I used to play ‘pirates’ on.

Field Trip 4: This was by far the highlight of all our field trip fantasies! The Teddy Bear Museum! All I wanted to see was Nazi Teddy bears, but I was in for so much more. I can’t really describe the scenario, but I did create a sequence of Photos I’d like to title “Why does this exist”
Afterwards we went to a beautiful lava cliff coast. It was a great place for a photo session… after trying out all of my Günther poses (http://www.gunthernet.com) I was told to stop being creepy and look at the water… BUT I’m in Seoul right now, so I would like to let the photos speak for themselves and I will update in the near future
More to come soon…



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The terainThe terain
The terain

what a good strip of land looked like
A plateA plate
A plate

what a typical museum has to offer, a bunch of nothing
ONE SHOTONE SHOT
ONE SHOT

It was Emilie's birthday so we had to go to our favorite resturant and hang out with 'one shot.' This women thought we were all retarded, rightfully so. She poured our beer and would year one shot, and we starred blankly thinking it was korean, then she grabed up one of the beers and chugged the entire thing and said 'ONE SHOT'! So it became universal. Emilie didnt know how to say bathroom, so she just jumped up and down to do the 'pee dance,' One Shot Lady took her to the bathroom, and when we asked what is bathroom in Korean, she translated Moron. So we went around shouting moron when we need to go.
Feces PorkFeces Pork
Feces Pork

So - We kept going to this restuarant because it was good, and the lady there abused us. TURNS OUT, the pork is feed nothing but human feces for its entire life. Now I was skeptical, but it is true, Jeju is known for its pork that eats nothing but shit
PoolPool
Pool

Then we went to a pool hall, and found the only american style pool table... all the others had 0 pockets... ?
My new TA tracyMy new TA tracy
My new TA tracy

She was awesome! She had studied at a canadian high school so her english was amazing and she liked to hang-out at the back of my class and gossip about all the TAs/Teachers/Staff
And it startsAnd it starts
And it starts

The teddy bear museum
CreationCreation
Creation

Why am I here
ThinkerThinker
Thinker

Why am I here
Post-Modern BearPost-Modern Bear
Post-Modern Bear

It died in a freak microwaving accident
Beach BearBeach Bear
Beach Bear

It has two asses on one and two faces on the other...
Moma BearMoma Bear
Moma Bear

I had had it by the time I got to the outside exhibit..
My celebrity StatusMy celebrity Status
My celebrity Status

This is a common event. Korean would approach me and say hello and ask my their 6 english questions, or yell at me from across the airport terminal to say hello. Here is a good example of my celebrity status - A mom sees my name on a name tag and shoves her son into a photo with me because his Engrish name is Stephen as well. The kid isnt so excited


5th February 2007

pictures
That Teddy Bear Museum honestly will give me bad dreams tonight. Its like Childs Play but insted of a red haired terror, its a million oddly clothed bears...
5th February 2007

Who'd a thunk it
First, did you really pay them happy stickers to do your laundry? Arent you suppose to be helping? Second, a bear in a microwave?!?....I like it. Third, there's a sneaky cyborg-bear that put the other bear in the microwave. Four, I miss you.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb