Jeju Day 1


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju » Seogwipo
September 19th 2012
Published: September 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Cheonjiyeon Falls 3 secs
Hallasan VolcanoHallasan VolcanoHallasan Volcano

View from my hotel
Left Busan as leisurely as I arrived and made my way to Jeju Island, the largest of the islands surrounding the Korean peninsula. Jeju is a volcanic island and full of mountains/extinct volcanoes and their leavings (the cities I have seen so far seem to be entirely paved in pumice, which is quite a nice effect).

Jeju's primary industry was, unsurprisingly, fishing. Given the strong Pacific currents and whims, a lot of the menfolk were killed or away at sea for long periods. As a result, the island was a de facto matriarchy and is apparently famous in Korea for the fortitude of its women. In particular, the women used to dive (to quite extraordinary depths, unaided) to collect oysters, and apparently there are certain villages in Jeju and its surrounding islets where this tradition is continued to this day.

However, in 2012, Jeju is more commonly known as a tropical haven and a honeymoon destination. Fortunately for me, it is not just newlyweds who make their way to the island, although judging by some of the stares I have been receiving, a woman by herself is a rare enough occurrence.

I flew into Jeju City, the capital
SeogwipoSeogwipoSeogwipo

View from my hotel
city in the North of the island, only to leave it almost immediately for the second city, Seogwipo (don't be fooled by the spelling, it's pronounced "so-gih-poe"), on the South coast. Going North to South is not as easy as it sounds, however, since there is a huge (extinct) volcano in the middle, so my bus meandered West before winding up in Seogwipo.

My hotel is lovely, a little out of the city in gorgeous countryside and the room is huge (and pink, but I'm being grown up about it, and didn't throw a tantrum) with a mezzanine platform for the bed.

I checked in and then left at once to check out (groan) the city. Seogwipo is particularly famous for its waterfalls, and I went in the dusk to see the closest, Cheonjiyeon. The waterfall itself was actually smaller than I expected(although really loud - I attach a video so you can see for yourselves) , but set in a cute little park/village that was prettily lit up once night fell.

I wandered round the harbour a bit before grabbing some eel soup (which was disappointing, frankly - although the kimchee was exceelent, so I felt I had had a decent meal) and heading back to my room.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Grandfather statueGrandfather statue
Grandfather statue

You see these all over Jeju. Apparently, they were originally placed at the entrance to villages for protection.
Water carriersWater carriers
Water carriers

The other statue that crops up all over. To commemorate the women who hauled fresh water from the springs over Jeju's hilly/mountaineous terrain to their homes.
Smiling RockSmiling Rock
Smiling Rock

socalled. in Cheonjiyeong park
Wishing statuesWishing statues
Wishing statues

In the water were three statues (fish, bird and one other) and you are supposed to make a wish to obtain the three happinesses of life for yourself or your neighbours. Since the first happiness was matrimonial harmony, I wished for you, dear neighbours.


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb