UNESCO - Jeju island, the Hawaii of Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju » Jeju-si
March 30th 2014
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

They say it's Hawaii here but…where is the sun? Well the weather was not great but not that bad either. The first couple of days I could go around the island. Then, when it rained too much I stayed at the hostel and got some rest. I was actually pretty tired, I would almost say a little bit travelled-off, so it was a good thing.

Jeju is a volcanic island. The main crater stands in the middle but there is lots and lots of small ones all over the island. I went to the one on the East coast, called Seokwipo. You can climb up to the crater. It is circular and has a 'hole' in the middle. As one can expect really. From the distance you can really see how flat it is.

I went to the small island of U-do, of the East coast of Jeju, with a girl met at the hostel. The island is shaped as a lying cow hence the name U-do (apparently it means cow island, I can't remember who told me that). It was very pretty. Near the coast, we could see the orange buoy that indicate the site of a woman diver. They dive to get the shell fish on the sea bed. If you observe a little while, you can see them going up to the surface and dive again. U-do is tiny but there is a lot to see and do. We walk to the lighthouse to get the view, then across a black sand beach and inside a cave to find pink rocks. The weather was just about hot enough to eat an ice-cream. We had a nice day. Once back, we had a really good meal, some sort of stew, the meat was really tender. It was delicious!

On the second day of sunshine I went to the South of the island. There is a couple of waterfalls (nothing really impressive) and some lava formation. That was cool to see the columns of basalt. At some point an old man (ahjussi) took my camera and he made me pose. I first took a 'normal' pose and then he decided I should look more enthusiastic and mimed for me which pose I should take (see pictures). He made me laugh a lot.

On my last day, I went for a short walk around Jeju city before going to the airport. I saw few cherry trees in bloom. A preface to what is awaiting me in Japan.



L'île de Jéju porte le surnom d'Hawaii de la Corée….mais où est donc le soleil. Bon allez, je ne me plains pas. Le temps n'était pas superbe mais j'ai quand même pu en profiter. Et puis quand il pleuvait vraiment trop je suis juste restée à l'auberge et je me suis reposée. J'en avais grand besoin, je commence à être fatiguée.

Jéju est une île volcanique. Le cratère principal est au centre. Mais il y a un grand nombre de cratères plus petits tout autour. Je suis allée en voir un qui se trouve sur la côte Est, Seokwipo. On peut monter grâce à un escalier, du haut on voit vraiment la forme ronde et concave. Par contre de loin il a l'air plat.

Je suis aussi allée sur la toute petite île de U-do avec une fille rencontrée à l'auberge. La forme de l'île rappelle celle d'une vache allongée et c'est pour cela qu'elle s'appelle U-do (U= vache et do= île). Je ne sais plus trop qui m'a raconté ça. En tous cas, on s'est régalée. Depuis le bord de la plage, on peut voir les bouées oranges qui signalent la présence des plongeuses. Ces femmes plongent pour ramasser les coquillages et bien sûr sans bouteilles. On est monté jusqu'au phare, on a traversé une plage de sable noir pour aller explorer une cave où la roche est rose. Il a fait beau et même suffisamment chaud pour pouvoir manger une glace. Une fois rentrées, on est allée manger une sorte de pot-au-feu. La viande était super tendre, un régal !

Le deuxième jour de beau temps, je suis allée dans le sud de l'île. Il y a quelques chutes d'eau (rien de bien exceptionnel) et des formations de lave. On peut voir les cheminées de lave qui se sont formées quand la lave a atteint l'océan. C'est chouette. A un moment, un homme un peu âgé (ahjussi) m'a pris mon appareil et m'a fait poser. Au début j'ai pris une pose normale, mais il a décrété que ce n'était pas assez funkie alors il a mimé ce que je devais faire (voir photo). Il m'a fait bien rire !

Pour mon dernier jour, je me suis fait une courte balade dans la ville de Jéju. J'ai croisé quelques cerisiers en fleurs. Un prélude à ce qui m'attend au Japon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb