Rock Climbing


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Geojedo
September 25th 2010
Published: November 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My co-teacher Tim is an avid rock climber. All summer he tried to convince me to go rock climbing with him, but I always seemed to have something else going on. Eventually, over our Korean Thanksgiving in September, called Chuseok, I went with him. We went to Gujora Beach, then up the mountain from there to do some climbing. Tim's sister Nicky was in town, which I think helped convince me, having another newbie along to relate to!! Turns out, I LOVED IT!! Since then I've been rock climbing with him at the outdoor wall in our little city, Gohyeon, every Wednesday night after work. There is a great group of Koreans who welcome us every week to climb with them. They are very encouraging and it's fun to share a sport, cross-culturally and encourage each other in our respective languages, neither of which the other understands...it makes for interesting times to say the least!! But, we share food and there is lots of miming going on, eventually getting the point across or ending in laughter, so all is well. I don't have much more to say about rock climbing, but wanted to share a few photos of my first successful outdoor climb!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Trailhead
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

View from halfway up the climb.
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Tim hanging off to rock.
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Tim and I at the halfway point of the climb.
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

My feet in Tim's climbing shoes...he climbed barefoot!!
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Nicky starting to head up with first half of the climb.
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Nicky's almost to the halfway point!
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

There I am coming up the second half of the climb.
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Almost to the top!
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Final step over the ledge and on to solid ground!
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

First outdoor rock climbing = success!! Woo!
GeojeGeoje
Geoje

Gujora Beach - View from the top!


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb