Road Trippin'


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Andong
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've had quite a busy week. I've also decided to not wait for months on end to update my photos! It was a nightmare organizing them all, but I'm finally caught up. Anyways, I just got back from Japan yesterday, but that's for the next entry. Right before Japan, I went on a road trip through Korea with Malcolm and Louise, my British English Teacher friends. I was only able to go for two days or so, but it was still a lot of fun. It was really nice to get out of the cities and just explore. We didn't make any sort of itinerary and just "went with it", which turned out to be excellent.

There isn't a whole lot to report, really. We just climbed into my car and headed north along the eastern coastline. We stopped at a couple of beaches. Eventually we turned west and headed for Andong, which is known for being a very traditional, historical city. There we saw an old Confusionist "campus" where a famous Korean Confusionist studied and taught many centuries ago.

We basically just drove along the highway at whatever pace we felt like, stopping to eat, swim, climb, play, and of course, sleep in the ever-convenient "love motels" scattered along the way. The Korean countryside is gorgeous in the summer (and I hear autumn is also great). We tried our best to stay off the main expressways and drive through the small farming highways, which was very scenically rewarding. All in all, it was a simple trip and one of my favourite ones so far!


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Tractor/ATV/Pickup/Water PumpTractor/ATV/Pickup/Water Pump
Tractor/ATV/Pickup/Water Pump

Dad definitely needs one of these for the lake! Runs on diesel and has a transfer case to instantly convert the engine to a water pump for irrigation of rice paddies.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb