wondaeatatime


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

And the saga continues. I've been applying for jobs even though I'm not certain of my visa situation, and today I got an email with an offer from a large institution that I really want to work for. And it's in Seoul. Now I just need to figure out my visa. I'm determined to find a loop hole in this whole situation and get out of here as soon as possible.

One another note, my mom had surgery on Wednesday to remove a cyst in her ovaries. Everything went great and they found the cyst to be the size of a large grapefruit and benign. She is recovering and should be able to go home any day. In the mist of everything that was going on in my little world, I had forgotten that my mom was going through this painful ordeal, both physically and mentally. I feel so selfish when I think about how I burdened my parents and family everyday calling them crying with my petty little drama. I look at the big picture and see that life is not just about myself and that there are other people in the world suffering much more than me. I get weekly updates from my friend who is volunteering in Africa as a nurse and hear about the pain the people have to go through never knowing if they will make it through the day.

Sorry to depress everyone, but I just wanted to write and give a brief update and to let you all know that I'm ok. I'm hopeful that things will work out. I am going to my first "house party" tonight at my co-workers house. I'm trying to go with the flow at work and not go crazy on my boss and his wife. And trying to just enjoy spending time with the kids here while I can. November 11 is a special day for the kids, it's called Pepero day. Pepero is a chocolate covered cookie stick and since two of them look like the number 11 they give them out to their friends on 11.11. I've been collecting them from my students and have quite to collection. I feel honored each time I get one. I hope you all have a great weekend and I hope to hear from you soon!

Peace and Love

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb