Sugar, Zombies, and Michael Jackson


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Chungcheongnam-do
November 5th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"CANDY. GIVE ME CANDY. I WANT CANDY. NOW."

This sentence is said with direct force, an even voice, and a wild look in the eye that says I may or may not hurt you.

What once used to be the pleasant days of students asking me sweetly for stickers has become a dark haze of students searching my belongings for that addicting, happiness inducing, most prized CANDY. It's all Halloween's fault.

Halloween has never impressed me much after I learned, far too late at the age of 18, that I couldn't trick or treat anymore. When a holiday doesn't center around food, I find it mildly irritating. Sure, now it centers around booze and costume parties, but really, that was most of my college life. I was a bit shocked when I noticed the growing excitement of my fellow teachers who were decorating classrooms like little Halloween elves, spreading orange and black joy, playing ghoulish games to scare their students, and basically enjoying the holiday. Hmmm I suppose I should do something besides a Halloween crossword eh?

"So guys, who knows what Halloween is???"
Blank stares. Confusion. Then a spark of hope.
"Candy!!!!"

This is how most of my classes started, but after my ppt on various Halloween costumes, jack-o-lanterns, and trick or treating ( complete with giving them candy) they seemed to get the general idea. I showed the 13 min long Thriller by Michael Jackson which they all found hilarious. The 80's special effects were laughable and in this day and age dancing zombies are hardly a "thriller" as the name suggests. But I caught them doing some dance moves in the hall and when I was leaving school, one of my boys ran after me and said "Teacher, I'm a zombie" and proceeded to lumber after me making groaning noises. Then we had a zombie fight. As you do.

My after school class informed me after we watched some Halloween Simpsons that we would be having a Halloween party on Friday. As in I would be throwing them one. This is the class I once stressed over, couldn't control, and deplored teaching. Now they are my favorite students and we've become friends. I hardly ever have discipline problems with them, the only control problem is now that we have become so familiar, they seem to think they can decide our lessons for the day. Seems they are right because I got right on planning on Halloween party that night.

I found shiny orange pumpkin decorations and glittery black bats to hang on the walls. I had a hanging pumpkin to play pin the nose on and rolls of toliet paper for a mummy wrap. I had printed out vampire masks for them to wear. There was cookies, candy, and Simpsons House of Horror was ready to play. I found myself excited about Halloween, like actually in a festive mood! I put on my green glittered up mask and sat at my desk waiting for them to come in like some creepy fairy teacher. They straggled in and when they saw my face, roared with laughter, and then said "ooh teacher beautiful mask, so beautiful". Sureeee. One girl pulled a vampire cape out of her bag, another put on a cartoon-ish sequin bow, and my favorite student took out a plastic pumpkin to trick or treat with. Adorable. We had a blast playing the games and soon everyone was wearing toilet paper and looking like an emergency ward in the hospital. Seems like Halloween CAN still be fun.

Halloween is over now and so is my after school class. I'll miss this class but at least I still see the girls in my normal classes, where they have become my best students. They help translate for other girls and seem far more confident in their English. A completely wonderful feeling.....that comes crashing down when I get accosted for candy. I appreciate Halloween much more now, but thank god we only celebrate it one day of the year. Now the crazed girls seem to understand Halloween is over and I don't have anymore sweets.
And they are not happy.
It's a good thing I have stickers.



Advertisement



5th November 2010

Cool.
It's great to hear that your students seem to have connected with you and that you aren't having any more behavior issues! I don't know about you but a teacher would be special if she engaged in a zombie fight with me. To be able to play with kids at any age is a huge strength Hannah! Your Halloween sounds so fun. Do you ever take pictures of your class?
6th November 2010

i have some up on facebook but my camera is pretty bad so i am lacking on photos..i'll try harder :) thanks for the kind words as always e-dog!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb