Adam is Julia!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Chungcheongnam-do
September 3rd 2010
Published: September 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I already have an inside joke with my 3rd grade class. No big D. I was still laughing about this the rest of the day.

I had the girls write English nametags, as I have been doing the last 8 lessons sigh, and they usually yell out names they want me to spell so they can write them down. One girl in green framed glasses said "Teacher, teacher! Adam?" I laughed and said "that's a boy's name but you can use it!" I wrote it on the board and all the girls started laughing. Once she realized it was a boy's name she said "No teacher, no!" but I kept calling her Adam. The girl sitting behind her had decided to be Lady Hee-Hee and kept raising her hand and saying "Lady Hee-Hee, yes!" They were cracking me up so when I did hangman, I wrote out the spaces _ _ _ (like so) for Lady Hee Hee and Adam are very funny. The students figured it out in like 30 seconds and started chanting "ADAM, ADAM ADAM, ADAM." It was hilarious and almost frightening. "Adam" had changed her nametag to Julia and told me "NO, I am Julia now!" I said ok, you are Julia.
Next game of hangman I did the spaces for Adam is Julia. There wasn't even ONE LETTER up (these girls are on top of this hangman thing) and a girl yelled out "ADAM IS JULIA!!!" it was so fantastic. Hopefully Adam/Julia doesn't hate me.
Later on in the day the same girl who had figured it out passed me and said hello. I said hello but didn't recognize her and she said "Teacher! It's me! Adam is Julia!" Job well done, Hannah.

Here are some other AWESOME names the students choose.
1. Cassiopeia. I mean what the hell, this girl should get that framed.
2. Prada
3.Ronaldo
4.Kitty
5.Yo S'up
6.Primadonna
7.S.O.S
8.Romeo
9.Rooney
10.Damien

now the girls in my classes seem to think when they raise thier hands in class they are supposed to say thier english name so my whole last class ALL i heard was "lady gaga lady gaga!". that lady gaga just won't shut up.

i'll leave you with this. i saw a girl walking pretty damn fast with a mirror in one hand and scissors in the other cutting her bangs. this is what i deal with. my head hurts but alll in all it's a pretty sweet gig 😊



Advertisement



3rd September 2010

Hannah is my teacher
I would die if you were my teacher. It sounds like they are having so much fun with you haha! and your Korean name is...?
4th September 2010

Hannah, Hannah
Girl, you are wonderful. You crack me up! 6:15 a.m. after my run and I am reading your blogs and catching up cause I didn't know you had started blogging on your Korea trip... I LOL at the American Idol comment about Evan... so funny. Thoroughly enjoying your stories, keep 'em coming girl! GO FOR IT BANana!

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb