My trail


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Cheongju
June 1st 2010
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Good news!! So I woke up this morning and despite not feeling too great, I knew I had to check out the rest of the hiking trail so I finally got myself together and went. I kept walking...for what seemed like forever but maybe it was an hour or less. This trail, this mountain, goes on forever! And the start of it is right by my house and I never would have known. It was BRIGHT green everywhere and so beautiful. There isn't an ugly part on the entire trail.

My curiosity to see where the trail led kept me going but I was starting to get worried about making it to work on time. I had no idea what time it was and no water...ha ha but I kept going. I finally reached a gazebo, a lot of work out equipment and an awesome view. On the gazebo there was a big clock hanging! Perfect. Right underneath the clock: a mirror. Wow Korea, who really wants to see themselves right now? But of course I saw an old women walk right up to the mirror and start fixing herself up. Oh, also worth mentioning: I saw the FIRST Korean hiker wearing shorts! I was shocked. All the other people I saw today had an under armor like long sleeve shirt, with a short sleeve shirt over it, and then a VEST over that. Yes, three layers on top, full pants, huge socks, hiking shoes, and GLOVES! Very necessary when hiking. Then there's me in a t-shirt and shorts...legs fully exposed.

Anyway, the hike is awesome, right next my house, and I hope to do it at least 2 days a week. It is SO much better than jogging. I hate jogging, ha ha and I have always loved hiking. It gives me something to do and think about and focus on. I am surrounded by birds chirping in the trees, half the hike I could hear kids screaming at school, and I constantly have to focus on where my next step is because the trail is rocky, full of roots, and hilly.

Also at the top...besides the clock that I needed, was a WATER STATION! Perfect, I drank some water and hung out for a bit and then decided I needed to book it home. I started running on the way down...it was awesome. Reminded me of hiking when I was little. It required no effort, I just let my legs fall because it was mostly downhill. Every few yards I was thinking "please don't land on a root and sprain your ankle." I think I was close a few times but no injuries.

On the way up, the awkwardness of everyone who passed me was driving me crazy. Everyone would look at me and then instantly look away and say nothing. I was like "really?" Come on people! So on the way down, I decided I would say hello to every single person who passed. Keep in mind, these are almost all older people. The first guy comes. "Anyonghaseyo..." "ughdeeeeeeeeeaaaaa" It was pretty much a grunt but he responded! And I decided that it was in a nice way. And the good news is, everyone person I passed EXCEPT ONE GIRL responded in some way. Either a grunt, NEEEEEE (ya), or anyonghaseyo. Only one girl didn't even utter a sound. I was actually laughing on my way down thinking of how awkward it was for most of these people that I was saying hello to them.

Fast forward: At work in one of my classes today we were talking about cultural differences. I brought up the smiling and saying hello and my students quickly informed me that they NEVER say hello to people they don't know. They said people would think I was "very strange" if I did it. Ha ha! Oh well....I tried to explain that I want to smile and be friendly...and they were like "okay....but we don't do that." Only to people they know, I guess. So pretty much, I was being disrespectful to everyone I passed on the trail. Also, it is very rude to make eye contact with people....and of course, I was trying to make eye contact the whole hike. To show my kindness ha ha. Instead, I look like an ignorant American.

More good news: Today we got our first package from Costco online. It's so nice...you can order online, go to an ATM and pay costco, and then it ships the next day to you...and only takes 1 day to get there! We even ordered frozen turkey and ham and they came in a chilled package. Other than that: a $16 tub of Skippy peanut butter, nutella, macaroni and cheese (yay!!!) for $4 a box. Isn't that expensive?




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

gazebogazebo
gazebo

complete with a clock and a mirror


2nd June 2010

What a find!! So glad you took the risk and went the whole way. Also glad you are getting plenty of exercise and learning the laws of the land. Keep smiling!! Love you!! Jeanne

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb