Shang-a-lang


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
July 19th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As time rapidly runs out and this steam train of an adventure comes hurtling towards its final destination, it’s only right that I take the time out to write another few paragraphs of inane rubbish. And in a thwarting contrast to the last entry, there will be no overabundance of pictures this time around as my craptop has decided to be an absolute nemesis and stop letting me upload pictures. I’m afraid you’ll have to make do with looking at them on my 4 inch camera screen when I get home. Sorry.

It’s certainly not Club Tropicana here at the moment, with rain so heavy that it renders umbrellas almost useless and when it lands it bounces 3 feet up your trousers. Nonetheless, it was my week off last week so I braved the conditions and embarked upon an excellent backpacking trip; exploring myself…..and Korea. I started with a 5 hour bus journey down to Busan (about as far south as you can go) and then worked my way back, stopping off at Gyeongju, Daegu and of course Seoul before getting back on the Friday. It was an interesting change of pace and a nice break; staying in hostels and hanging around with travelers rather than fellow teachers. I was something of an attraction to backpackers just visiting Korea owing to my ability (of sorts) to order food. Indeed there’s every chance that that was the only reason they spoke to me.

I arrived home in Incheon to the shocking revelation that a Korean TV crew is coming to my school on Monday to film me teaching. Apparently they’re making a documentary on English education and have chosen our school from which to get their evidence. Whether that’s evidence of everything right or everything wrong with the Korean education system I’m not yet sure. To think that a week prior, school was cancelled for a day after an H1N1 scare. Life is a rollercoaster in these Hagwons, that’s for sure.

I’ve already sent some things home and been on the phone to England interviewing my prospective replacements. Plenty of reminders that it’s nearly time to get on that long and winding road back home. I’ll be making the most of my remaining weeks because in many ways the year has gone too quickly and I don’t feel ready to leave. That said, I’ll be dancing on the ceiling at the thought of seeing you all again soon.

I’ll more than likely get back on here again before time is up, although the lack of pictorial evidence makes it even less worth reading than it was before. It takes more than words to explain life in Korea in my opinion.

So until very soon,

With love from me to you.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb