Happy New Year - First month in Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
January 4th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The day when i left, tired, sleepless, sad....That was practically a month ago. I don't remember the date i left for here but ive been here for 29days now. 30 almost as today, Sunday has been a complete write off. For obvious reasons too.
The culture shock set in late and I'm still feeling it being in this alienated place. Being a person whos had to please, I'm still settling in here, getting used to their way of life, I've had a mild touch of homesickness, its natural. But I know i'll grow to love Korea. Every country I've been too I've always had a sense of bitterness towards things because it isn't how it is at home, it shouldn't be either, but somethings take time to get used to. As will Korea with myself.
Anyway heres a list of things I like about Korea and things I'm not too keen on just yet. I must admit that my mind hasn't really been on here too much since i've been here, I miss the continent of Europe but I need to get into the mindset of this place and feel it and love it. It will happen and I will embrace the place a lot more than i should do.

Things I do like about Korea
1) The people. They are so polite, I like the customs like giving or receiving things with both hands. I like walking down the street and people saying hello to my. They are just good nice people.
2) I feel safe at anytime. Its a very safe non violent country and I love the security.
3) The western contingency. Its good having people with the same culture and stuff to talk to and just get the humour out. My friend Rich said something similar about how glad he was to know Brits just to feel more like himself. Something like that.
4) The whole different factor of the place. Sometimes it gives me a headache but I know i will appreciate things more especially when i come close to the end of my time here, but the bright lights and all that stuff, its overwhelming to see, its another world.
I do like more things i just cant think of them. I need to get out of Busan, see the country and learn to love a lot more.

Things I don't like about Korea
1) the fact that I seem to get dirt under my nails always. Ive just been to get food and i cleaned my nails before going out and ive come back and theres crap under all my nails. Baffling. My black leather murderer gloves will get more outings now so life is made easier for myself.
2) The taxi drivers way of getting peoples attention. They honk their horns, you could be in the fragile state I am in today and some bastard honks behind you and introduces you to epilepsy. It pisses me off, yet its their way and i'll deal with it
3) Drivers in general. Asian drivers have a reputation everywhere, but here I fear for my life. Mopeds drive down narrow streets and aim for you. Its a bit annoying. Spain had millions of mopeds and they annoyed me, things like driving on the pavement so they didnt have to wait at red lights.
4) The food is OK. I don't love Korean food. Its fascinating seeing fish tanks with species that I never new existed in them outside restaurants, some things that the homeless wouldnt even eat. I know Korean food will grow on me. But at the moment I just eat western stuff, don't know why.
5) My apartment. Its not that I don't like the place, i hate the place so much. Ive never felt so restless and itchy. I've never seen dust gather so much on the floor. Its disgraceful how they think they can stick a teacher in a cell like this and expect them to keep quiet about it. I told my agency that I want to move asap, i get shown 4 other apartments that day, all just as bad as this place. Ive seen some palaces. I sleep next to a fridge. Ive had 2 hot showers since ive been here, i shave in cold water and I scream. The other day I beat up my shower in a fit of rage. But this is a point that will be fixed, I could moan about it all day, but I just won't.
6) The approach to work. Koreans wont stand up to their bosses, they appear to overwork themselves for long hours, dont get paid well and dont have holidays. I'm here to save and it looks like i may benefit from working early so i cant go out and get smashed with the boys on weekdays. Im still confused about my job, they werent good at explaining, if it wasnt for the western teachers I'd have a big question mark above my head constantly. Work here is something i'm still adjusting to...
7) People who spread their aids in public by not covering their mouths when they cough and people who spit and make ugly noises right in front of me.

Im off to cut my nails now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb