Too Westernised for me


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bukit Batok
September 3rd 2011
Published: September 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Singapore I wanted to make my way quickly to Central Quay to meet up with my uncle for dinner, so after taking a taxi and having a few minor problems contacting him we eventually headed out. But there was choice! Too much choice! After not having to make a decision over food for so long and even when you did make a choice it was rice or noodle's, fried or not, been in Singapore was strange. In the end I had steak with sticky date pudding for desert mmm. After picking up my new camera and organising some photos and music it was time to say goodbye and go find somewhere to sleep.
Been in Singapore made me feel closer to England and far away from Indonesia and countries that feel much more like Asia. There are so many white people here! Lots of old English who think they are seeing Asia : ) but its nice to have fast I internet even if I still couldn't get my hot shower and it nice for my clothes to see a washing machine for the first time in two months.
Most of the next day and half I had in Singapore I spent planning my imminent trip to the Philippines and updating my travel blog which I hadn't done while in Indonesia and catching up with people on facebook. There was so much choice for lunch in the end i went to the 7-11 and bought a sandwich i just couldnt make a decision. At night I headed out to Clarke Quay and had Laksa for dinner one thing i miss from Malaysia so much I had it for lunch the next day too. Its nice to have a walk around, so much of it is lit up with all kinds of statutes and lanterns, no stary night in Singapore though.
I think though after spending two months in Indonesia I prefer developing countries over developed. I even started to prefer mandi's over a shower they either don't have enough water power or you have to hold them because the shower holder is broken, an western toilets always have wet seats, like always! You don't have that problem with squat toilets and crossing a road is much easier than having to walk 5 mins in the opposite direction to cross three pedestrian crossing just to get opposite where you were to start with. Plus one tiny shop in Indonesia sells everything but to find what you want in Singapore takes walking around loads of shops and spending forever waiting to cross a road.
Anyway its off to the Philippines for three week so I worked out the MRT system and made my way to the airport then found the bus to the budget terminal and got checked in for my flight to Clark. See you again in three weeks Singapore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb