Got my shopping on!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
May 6th 2014
Published: May 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Singaporeans, and honestly Asians in general, are hugely into fashion. On any given day, I see at least 2 girls wearing what I would consider my nicest party dress and f*&% me heels to work. It hurts my feet just looking at them….and here I am, wearing my tennis shoes on the MRT and changing into my nice, serviceable Hushpuppies once I get to the clinic.

My Clinical Instructor (CI), also wears heels to work. Yes, she treats patients while wearing heels. And dresses sometimes. So with this in mind, I've been actively searching out some good places to shop for nice clothes. Now back home I would just pop into the nearest Ross or Marshall's to stock my closet with a bunch of cute pants and tops without breaking the bank. There are no Ross's or Marshall's here. There are no department stores, or Targets, or even Walmart's….although the one in China apparently sells whole sharks in their fishery department, but I digress. Basically, what I am saying is finding reasonably priced (for US standards) clothing stores in Singapore has proved to be a problem. The other problem is finding my size among the XXS sizes. Now, I realize that I'm not a skinny gal, and could definitely stand to shed some pounds, but being handed a pair of pants that says XXXL does not feel so good….even if that compares to a size 10 US.

Fortunately, my old friend from Bangkok, Sagar, was kind enough to take me shopping on Saturday. We met at the Bugis MRT stop and grabbed some lunch at one of the food stalls at the Bugis Food Junction. I was a bit nervous about getting glutenned by the char siu, but nothing happened. Frew!! Next stop was the Bugis outlet…basically a 3 story flea market. I regret to say that my silly Nokia phone does not have a very good camera, and I was not able to take any good pics of my tour, but I will return and remedy that ASAP! Had a great time exploring Singapore, got some bandung with tapioca pearls (iced condensed milk with rose syrup), a drink I remember well from childhood, and some delicious satay chicken! Looking forward to my next foray into the Singapore shopping scene, especially if it means getting more bandung!!



Ta-Ta for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb