Finally!!! I'm away!!!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
November 13th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A380 A380 A380

The A380 I went on from Sydney to Singapore Nov 13th 2007. I was sitting at the window up above the 'G' in Singapore...on the upper deck!
Well... I didn't get a chance to jump on before I left, I don't think I physically stopped in the last 4 days of going.

I arrived at Sydney airport on the morning of Tuesday 13th November, proceeded up to the line for people who have checked in online. Thank god I had, the other line for the ones that hadn't would have had at least 100 people in the line 2 hours prior to boarding.
I think everyone was very eager to get their butts firmly planted into their seat on the new A380. I know I certainly was!!!

I couldn't get over the size of this aircraft it was massive!!!! To walk through business class with their fancy little 'day beds', their little bottles of champers etc etc etc you almost had to turn side on to walk through the corridor.

Down stairs on the A380 the seat pattern in cattle class is 3 -4 - 3. The seating pattern on the upper deck for cattle class is 2 - 3 - 2.
Unfortunately it was a FULL flight. I don't remember seeing 1 vacant seat!!

I have only done one other flight in my
A380 Window storageA380 Window storageA380 Window storage

The storage compartments under the windows on the upper deck.
life and that was some 16 years ago on ANA to America.
Yes I was smaller back then, but these seats didn’t give the impression that they belonged in a new super jet!
Considering the size of the beast, it could have been wider and reclined more!
One bonus of sitting up stairs (although it does come with a negative!), is that on the windows, instead of the seats being up close and personal to the window they are set back from them. Instead there are compartments under the windows. You press down on the lid and it flips open. In there you find blankets and pillows. Also a good spot to put jackets and handbags.
But on the flip side you can’t lean against the window to help in sleep.

Flight was uneventful thank god!! A few roughish patches coming across the middle of Oz and going over the coastline of western Australia.
Now that was a site and I hope my pics of it turn out!!! The estuaries feeding into the sea was unbelievable.

Landing in Singapore was good. No dramas, although with the A380 I can see why you need your seatbelt on when landing.
Peering out of my windowPeering out of my windowPeering out of my window

View from my window sitting at Sydney airport
If you didn’t you would slide right off your seat just from the braking power!!

One night in Singapore, met up with a couple I have met off Tripadvisor - Wendy and Ross. They are on their adventure to S.E.A as well. Just a shame that I had not met them online a week earlier as we could have travelled together for some of it.
We had a good night, but we were all very exhausted. Wendy and Ross had been walking non stop around Singers for the last 2 days and had a heavy nite the night before lol
They had sussed out a few areas and took me down to Bugis to have dinner with the locals. Boy didn’t we stand out, the only Caucasians in the joint.
But OMG the food!!!
We all had chicken with fried rice and it was amazing!!! The best rice I’ve had in my life. And for a big plate it only cost S$3.00.
If your ever there and you can’t eat or simply don’t like hot things. Don’t pour the chilly sauce provided all over your food!!! Lol VERY nice, but *sniffle* very hot!!!
Back to the 1Bnb - nice
Wow!Wow!Wow!

Coast line after take off
place to stay for your money, big bed but…. A little way to walk to nearest train station and also my bed had huge valleys in it! I woke at 4.30am feeling like I had slept slumped over a barrel somewhere. I felt so crooked!
The TV also didn’t work, but the people managing the place are very nice indeed!!

As I had a taxi booked for 5.00am an alarm clock would have been great. Even just a clock in the room. I was so paranoid that I had the wrong local time and that I’d wake up late…I ended up not sleeping a whole lot.
Up at 4.20am to head to the airport for my Tiger Airways flight to Chiang Mai.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Sydney Coast lineSydney Coast line
Sydney Coast line

Amazing coast line just south of Sydney. Just taken as we turn right after take off.
A380 Upper deckA380 Upper deck
A380 Upper deck

Cattle class upper deck A380
Going down anyone?Going down anyone?
Going down anyone?

Stairwell going down to the lower level
Full house A380Full house A380
Full house A380

Cattle class A380 SQ220 lower deck
I thought this was beautiful!I thought this was beautiful!
I thought this was beautiful!

Crossing the coastline at Western Australia heading to Singapore from Sydney. Amazing sight from the air - all the estuaries leading into the sea!
Ross & WendyRoss & Wendy
Ross & Wendy

We had just sat down at the Bugis Food Village and had the best chicken with fried rice I've ever had.


14th November 2007

first time
i think this is very good, i'm no expert on blogs, but the pictures were excellent, and the text very readable.....i'll be looking forward to reading about your trip with each entry. Have wonderful time....grab every moment and enjoy yourself.
14th November 2007

That's the Girl!
Great blog entry Lorree. It sounded like you were much more positive about the trip. Enjoy the experiences, the good and the bad ones, they all form the story of a great adventure!! I'll look forward to reading each entry. Have fun, take care, and most of it, soak it all in!! Di xxx
14th November 2007

Woohoo!!
Great to see you having fun there!! very informative comments too :) Your girl is just fine here, went for a walk yesterday, and I already see what you mean about her liking a bit extra food.. lol gave her an evening off tonight, don't want to do too much too soon ;)
14th November 2007

Hello
Have a ball in Chiang Mai... hope you find my suckling pork restaurant. Say hi to Tim for me at CM Blue - remind him I am the one with the son from December that had to leave my 1.25l bottle of Raspberry Vodka with him when I left... he should remember! xx
14th November 2007

good one
glad you got there safe and sound....ha ha Kevin...making up stories about plane crashes to scare her. i think there has been a study where you are more likely to die from being a silly billy then on a plane...i think that was it. loved the pics loz...hope to see lots more. you go girl x
15th November 2007

Hiya Lorree
Well you brave and very lucky girl. I am sooo jealous. Your entries are great and the pics fantastic. I so wish i was with you. Maybe in a few years we can do one together. You have the time of your life and enjoy yourself. Am looking forward to seeing and hearing more from you. You deserve this hun so make the most of every second. Miss you heaps and hope we can have a coffee soon and you can tell me all about it. Am planning a trip to Canberra next April . Love you lots xx
15th November 2007

Great travel blog
Hi Loree: Great travel blog! I will be reading about your interesting travel adventures from now on! Have fun and be safe!
16th November 2007

woohoo!
Hey mate! Its finally started! thats awsome! It will definatly be a good experience to remember! I cannot believe the size of that plane! OMG!!! Its nice that you have met some people too. Have fun chat soon!
20th November 2007

Hi Lorree
Fantastic, keep having fun, lucky you catching up with Wendy. Looking forward to more good reads and photos. Cathy xxxx
20th November 2007

Looking forward to reading your entried
Loved you entry, I will be leaving on Dec 22nd, going to Bangkok for4 nights, Chang Mai for 4nights, then to Phuket staying at Karon Beach for 10 nights. I hope everything is going well, and your having a great time. How is the shopping would you say for a size 16 lady?
21st November 2007

Sob
Hey hun!!! I reckon you'd have a blast over here!!! Its so cheap and the food is just to die for!!! Hope we get to catch up soon, Miss you heaps!!!! Luv ya! xoxox
4th December 2007

Wow - How come I didnt know about your blog lol!!
babe, you just tell me now lol!! got to get reading!!! wen n ross xxooxoxox. PS we miss our fav singers girl!
18th December 2007

Hi You
Why did I have to hear adout your blogg from your mum?How will I survive at Christmas with out you?Have a great holiday and say Hi to all Leane Adriaan for me.
21st December 2007

haha John
You dag I didn't have your email address and I knew mum would tell you! lol Glad you found it!! Oh yeah!! who is going to make christmas pavlova now??? OH NO!!! You'll survive ;)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb