I Shall Return


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
June 18th 2010
Published: June 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After fourteen years, the stars (and my vacation days) have finally aligned and my journey back to the Philippines begins. No doubt much has changed and I am beyond excited to rediscover the land of my roots aka: the pearl of the orient, the sick man of Asia, the land of Imelda, Pacquaio and people power. My partner John and our dear friend Brenda are joining me on this adventure. It will a very interesting trip for them as well since this is their first time in the country.
We will explore the islands of the Bacuit archipelago (El Nido), the rice terraces of Benguet, the backpacker mecca oF Sagada, the famed beaches of Boracay and of course the seething metropolis that is Manila. John and I are also taking a few days to explore Bangkok and towards the end of July take sidetrips around Luzon, maybe even Bohol. With such a packed schedule we are praying to avoid typhoons, floods, earthquakes, political unrest and traveler's diarrhea.
Thanks to frequent flier miles I was able to score a pretty good deal that included a day and a half stop in Honolulu. I think it's a fitting place to begin the trip. After all Honolulu always reminds me of the Philippines minus the abject poverty, stiffling heat/humidity and mosquitoes.
Next stop Aloha!



Advertisement



20th June 2010

Bon voyage
Very cool. I'm sure you'll find yourself experiencing familial comfort being there.
21st June 2010

woohoo
How fun!!!! I love Manila! Have a great time!
7th July 2010

love you KUYA
we miss you! enjoy and we love u! :)

Tot: 0.458s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb