Pampered in the Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
February 1st 2009
Published: February 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I’m nearing the end of my adventures, and couldn’t think of a better way to finish then to be smothered by a fleet of Philippinos...feels just like home.

After a nasty 24 hour travel day to get to Manila I arrive in the big city to be grabbed by a friend of Lily's (Lily has worked with my family for near 15 years) named Alvin. I immediately learned that in the Philippines nobody ever does anything solo...also in the car was his brother in law and mother in law. After a hearty all you can eat buffet - which is quite popular amongst the constantly consuming Philppinos - we arrived at where I would be staying. Not as much a house as it was a compound comprising of 4 families on one property, and another 5 or so neighboring on the same street. The importance and connection to family became quite evident. To preface, Lily has seen me grow from an 8 year old twerp to what you see now...a 23 year old twerp. Acting like a second mother she is a part of my family, and in turn I would be treated like a part of hers.

I was introduced to all available members of the family and all neighbors, each of which would welcome me like family...and with a ludicrous amount of food; always accompanied by rice. I made the mistake of mentioning my adoration of Philippino mango's...for the next week every meal would be accompanied by a half dozen fresh mangos, mango cake, dried mangos etc. The family’s backyard was littered with children, ducks and chickens...the children seemed quite confused and shy with regard to the bearded white man living in their houses and behind my back would refer to me as "Adam Sandler". During the days we would go on family excursions; local volcano, city tours, hot springs, karaoke...all of which would include myself as well as an entourage of on average 6-8 people. Lunch would always be picnics out of the trunk of the mini-van, those ducks that ran around the backyard I mentioned earlier....yes they were usually the entree; freshness guaranteed. Sticky rice, steamed rice, fried rice, rice cakes and any other form of the grain would accompany each and every meal...oh and SPAM, yes the iconic American delicacy is alive and kicking in the Philippines.

It is difficult to describe the hospitality shown to me by all of Lily's friends. For them to treat a strange looking individual from the other side of the world as generously as they treated me is something that has left me humbled, gratuitous and with an insight to the ladies back in Toronto that have been with my family since my early childhood. I now understand their blunt nature, importance of family, perception of North America, and addiction to white rice and fish heads.

As a guy who attempts to limit his carb intake, rarely eating white rice, after a week of having the stuff crammed down my gullet I would find myself craving it. There perception of the American diet, while probably quite accurate, was not my cup of tea...Eggs, bacon and bread in the morning, Pizza and hotdogs in the afternoon, and fried meats at night, washed down with coca-cola. I immediately made it known that I eat anything and to please include me in their personal meals. Bring on the dried fish, rice, goat, and all sorts of things I can’t describe or pronounce (all mixed with rice and inhaled using your hands).

One of the days in Manila I was taken to see a local Variety show called "Eat Buluga". With a studio audience of approximately 800 rowdy Philippinos of all ages I stood out like a sore thumb. For 2.5 hours I sat watching the taping, none of which I understood, but it seemed to be a hybrid of "The Price is Right", "American Idol", "Family Feud", "Americas got Talent" and "Saturday Night Live". The audience was cued to dance, chant and sing...I was quite confused, in fact I felt like my mom during a recent viewing of a Monty Python play on Broadway, only difference was I didn’t walk out. I followed the actions of the old woman beside me; dancing, waving my hands, and trying to imitate whatever sounds were coming out of her mouth. At one point the host and I met eyes, he asked where I was from, ignoring my response of "Canada", he said "Bethlehem" (taking a cheap shot at my beard)...the crowd erupted with laughter and cheers. I guess being associated with Jesus is a step up from previous heckles of Bin Laden.

After a massive goodbye lunch I went to meet Dangs sister Susan (Dang has also been with
Hot Springs - ManilaHot Springs - ManilaHot Springs - Manila

Philippino past time - Karaoke
my family for years), she welcome me with another massive feast which I chowed out of respect. Once finished we drove to meet Dangs other sister Emma, another meal ensued...some how they got word of my appreciation of Philippino Mangos. Directly after that I returned to Susans house to relax before dinner...chips, BBQ pork, fruit and beer were laid out in front of me as Susan sat and urged me to eat...Meal time became a foreign concept to me, because an hour later we went for dinner...talking about it leaves me feeling ill, so just trust me when I say that the human stomach has its limits.

I left Manila at 4am heading to a small island called Palawan a couple pounds heavier (not just my body, but Dangs sister stuffed 2 kg of mangos in my backpack). I told Dangs sisters not to wake up and Id let myself out, instead I awoke to the terrifying sound of something being fried. Bread, cheese, tuna, chocolate cake, coffee cake, fried rice and spring rolls were laid out on the table...I did something I had yet to do since starting my travels, I denied food.

Palawan was great, Puerto Princess the main city was a nice town where I was able to eat on my own time and meet other backpackers. El Nido a 7 hour drive away was perhaps the most beautiful place I have been thus far, perhaps in my entire life. A tiny beach town surrounded by countless tiny islands, white sand beaches and caves all explorable by boat or kayak, fresh seafood and no shortage of sunshine.

Cutting costs I stayed a few kilometers from the city centre which, on the upside, had its own private beach, on the downside had no electricity between 6am and 10 am, 3pm -7pm and any other time it decided not to work. Creepy crawlies and mosquitoes were also quite prevalent but at this point I hardly notice them. Island hopping was spectacular (see attached photos), eating freshly BBQ mackerel on private beaches and snorkeling with amazing marine life sure beats -30 degrees back home.

Awful, long, cramped, bus or car rides are something that I have grown accustomed to...an 8 hour ride in the front middle seat (between driver and passenger) sitting on my book to avoid 3rd degree burns to my butt from the heat
ManilaManilaManila

Grandfather
of the engine is something I don’t even think about anymore. Rush hour on the 401 in my air-conditioned car listening to the radio???? Give it to me! Please!

I arrived in Cebu a couple days later, the home town of Lily and Mila. I would be staying with Lily's family this time. Similar to her friends in Manila, her family all resides on the same street in houses that have been in the family for years. My welcome dinner? All-you-can-eat buffet. Let the hospitality begin. Meeting all sorts of cousins, her two sisters and two brothers I knew I was in store for another waist-enhancing week. The young cousins were either nurses or call-centre employees. Nursing seems to be one of the largest fields of study as it provides easier access to immigrating to the US or Canada, call centres are large in the Philippines due to cheap Asian labor costs but high English fluency rates.

I spent my mornings sitting and talking with Lily's sister and brother (a soon to be priest), both fascinating and kind individuals. I also toured Cebu with Lily's daughter which was quite special for me as well as Lily. To be
Eat BulugaEat BulugaEat Buluga

Studio audience at TV show taping
amongst family members that Lily and Dang haven’t seen in near 10 years seemed to create a bridge between the family members caused by distance, and also fill an inexplicable yet noticeable void.

The abundance of food was no different in Cebu, and somehow the family caught wind of my (expiring) appreciation of the local mangos. I took a 3 day sabbatical from all the attention (or so I thought) to head to a nearby island named Bohol for some touristy time. I was met by Lilys friends sister and husband, they were called ahead to fetch me and show me around; a surprise to me. Seeing the "Chocolate Hills", playing with Tarsiers and viewing a massive Python rounded off my tourist time.

Returning to Cebu for my birthday I awoke to a lovely breakfast of fish head, white rice and soymilk. Thinking that my 23rd birthday would be a bust I went to the local mall and walked around and read. Upon retuning to Lilys sisters house I was welcomed with a "SUPRISE!" as her family members jumped out laughing. A massive feast, gifts and a massage were part of one of the nicest, most humbling birthday
Eat BulugaEat BulugaEat Buluga

Someone won! I have no idea who, what, how or why.
celebrations I’ve ever had. Once again the Philippinos have gone above and beyond; my attempts at recipricatory gifts seemed meek in relation to all they had done for me.

I am now in Boracay, a resort filled stretch of white sand beach where I am enjoying my last few days in the sun before heading back to Manila, then Bangkok then a brief stop in London and finally home. I got myself a little birthday gift...I’ve been on a tight budget for near 5 months now so a little splurge on a special occasion has been long overdue. Tomorrow at 10am I tee off to play 18 holes on a beautiful island golf course (not too sure what I will wear).

I apologize for the length of this entry; I even cut out a huge chunk of stories, but am sure they will surface upon my return. Once imp settled in Bangkok I will put together a brief (I promise) ending to the blog. The sun is shining so I’m going to hit the beach, this means no reread...ignore typos please.

Thanks for reading.

Dave



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

ManilaManila
Manila

Dangs sister Emma. Some things never change...she is folding my laundry.
El NidoEl Nido
El Nido

My private beach
El NidoEl Nido
El Nido

1km stretch of beach surrounded by limestone cliffs...nobody on it but me.
El NidoEl Nido
El Nido

Snake Island
El NidoEl Nido
El Nido

BBQ Lunch
El NidoEl Nido
El Nido

Snake Island
El NidoEl Nido
El Nido

Caves
CebuCebu
Cebu

Church of St. Nino
CebuCebu
Cebu

Breakfast with Lilys sister
BoholBohol
Bohol

Tarsier


2nd February 2009

hi honey, your stories are interesting, funny and intriguing. Can't wait till i know you are on the flight from PHiladelphia. counting the hours!!!
2nd February 2009

Ah...
...to be pampered and spoiled in the Philippines...

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb