At last...my holiday!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » Puerto Princesa
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last week at work flew by, in fact, the first five weeks seems like a long time ago now. On Friday I went out with the whole team from the Child Protection Team. We went to Cabalen (friend) - which is an all you can eat buffet which had all sorts of food, some of which I have already written about. The team were so nice they gave me lots of presents, including some sugar cane wine (I've not drunk it yet but it looks pretty potent). It was a fitting end to my time there and we had come full circle because my visit started by having a meal with the team. I'm going back to the office before I leave the country to say one last farewell but Saturday was the beginning of my holiday. I had a fairly chilled out weekend visiting malls and seeking Azkals tickets (I thought there was another World Cup Qualifier I could go to but unfortunately it's the day I fly home) and then on Monday travelled to airport to fly to Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Palawan is a group of islands to the west of the Philippines and is known as a natural heritage area. The flight didn't go too well because there was a two hour delay which, at first I thought was down to the weather - the forecast had predicted a typhoon - but found out later it was due to the plane having mechanical problems (I'm not sure which is worse?). On arrival I had planned to look around the town and book some tours for the next few days but after I had checked into my hotel - which is lovely made from wood and bamboo - I got talking to a tricycle driver who convinced me to let him take me round - he fed me a story about having 8 kids to feed, which is probably true but I wonder how many travellers fall for it! It was actually a really good trip, not only was I able to see the local countryside but I was taken to a crocodile/nature reserve and a butterfly farm. The food here hasn't been too much of a problem despite what I have eaten but I was a little more cautious when I was asked (coerced) if I wanted to hold a crocodile and a giant scorpion. I'm not usually scared of animals but when dealing with ones that bite sting and kill it's wise to say no especially coming from Britain where our most dangerous animal is a badger! Anyway, I said yes and got some good animal loving pics - see if my face looks like I'm animal loving.
Today I went out island hopping around Honda Bay on a Pump boat. We set off early and I was so lucky with the weather, considering the forecast of that typhoon, because it was a clear and beautiful day. We visited a few islands (Starfish, Snake and one I missed the name of) and I got the opportunity to snorkel on the coral reefs. The reefs themselves weren't too colourful but the fish were and they even bit me the little fu**ers which gives you an idea of how close I was able to get to them. Unfortunately no pics of the fish you'll just have to take my word for it when I say they were all colours, shapes and sizes. Coming back the weather changed and a storm rolled in, bringing with it very heavy rain and all of us on the boat were huddled together hiding behind the life-jackets. It didn't dampen (excuse the pun) our spirits though and it was a great day.
Tomorrow I'm travelling to Sabang which is where the underground river is. It should be another great day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



18th July 2011

Scorpions & crocs
Hmm croc looked friendly enough but scorpion would have been a definite no no!!! Looks like you are enjoying the experiences both working and leisure. Linda x

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb