Snokeling @ skeleton wreck and swimming @ twin lagoon


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » Coron
April 19th 2008
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Preparing to snorkelPreparing to snorkelPreparing to snorkel

One more shot before preparing to snorkel
After taking some rest, it was time to enjoy what Palawan is all about - its natural wonders. They say that in this country, if you want to experience night life on the Beach - go to Boracay. However, if you want to truly see the beauty of nature - go to Palawan.

And that was what this trip was about. We wanted to see the beauty of nature. Taking time off from work, we visited Coron, in the province of Palawan.

Our next destination in our island hopping was Skeleton Wreck. The wreck is very close to an island and some reefs. I believe this was a fishing boat. I believe Coron is also known for its wreck and scuba diving. However, this wreck can be seen even while snorkeling. It is a little scary looking boat. But it isn't the only attraction there. This is also the place where a lot of us enjoyed the beautiful corals and a variety of fishes. Beware that there are sea urchins there too.

I too dared to swim and see the wreck. On the initial go-see I didn't see it, but I eventually did when I moved closer. My
going downgoing downgoing down

finally had the guts to go down and snorkel in the open sea!
friends were the ones who went first and called me to join them as they said the fishes and corals were good on the other side. So, off I went and followed them.

I didn't know why but panic set in. I knew I had a life vest. I would not drown. But for a few moments, I struggled, but no one noticed. It was then that I learned to trust myself again. I knew that this place was deep, but I had nothing to be scared of. Eventually, I joined my friends and swam to where they were. I was a little exhausted from the earlier scare and just rested a bit. Overall, I enjoyed the view and best of all I conquered my fear.

After this adventure, we went to the twin lagoon. Twin lagoon is called as such because you would be passing though an opening that would only be visible during low tide to reach the other lagoon. It is one of my friend's favorite destinations. The water is serene and calm. Because I was both the slowest swimmer and I was already too tired, I slowly made my way to the other lagoon.
wavingwavingwaving

waving and taking a rest while snorkeling at Skeleton wreck
You would be surrounded by limestone cliffs with lush vegetation. The place is really peaceful and the experience relaxing. As with most of our destinations, we were the only people there.

After about an hour, we decided to leave the place. Another group of tourists are coming in. I was already too tired that a friend just dragged me back to our boat.

We decided that we wanted to see the sunset in a great location. The tour guides suggested that we climb Mt. Tapyas. With this, we ended our first day of island hopping and prepared for our next destination.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

FishesFishes
Fishes

The fishes were gathered around the piece of bread that our tour guide gave to entice them
limestone cliffslimestone cliffs
limestone cliffs

limestone rocks at twin lagoon
and it all endsand it all ends
and it all ends

one shot, and tired from swimming at the lagoon


24th May 2008

"How to Move to The Phillippines" would like to link to this
I'm the Author of "How to Move to The Philippines". May I link this article to my site? Great Pictures. Asawa ko and I are going snorkeling next week. Take care Greg

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb