off to sagada, mt. province


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Mountain Province » Sagada
October 18th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Anything outside my comfort zone never fail to amaze me. I so so love traveling, the outdoor activities and meeting new and interesting people. If there’s one thing I don’t like much is the goodbyes. So here’s a tip, never ever let yourself be attached deeply with the place and its people, else, going back to your normal life would not be easy. You’ll end up nursing a hang-over for a week or two! It is not healthy you know.


Oct 18, 2008 *Off to Sagada


Most travelers advise you to always check or surf the net before visiting a place. Crap, it’s no fun! The excitement will drop. (Photos over the net are just not enough). If you will see the place the first time, it’s perfect because you don’t know what to expect and you will truly be surprised once you get there. This worked for me on this Sagada trip. I traveled with my friend (Wagah), his family (Uncle Miguel, Aunt Sunny, Kuya Dam) together with Atty. Floyd and Mrs. Marcy. We left Quezon City at around 4am on convoy. We had breakfast in one McDonald’s branch (am not sure if it’s in
pine trees are all overpine trees are all overpine trees are all over

this one's overlooking a village
Pampanga or whatever..my bad) and reached Baguio at around 10am (get extra cash in your ATM here, no ATMs in Sagada). We pass along one of the biggest schools in Benguet, the Benguet State University. My companies run for some errands in their parent’s house (just a stone-throw away from the strawberry farm) while I check for the farm. Unfortunately, I didn’t see a strawberry fruit! It’s October and planting season has just started. The fog’s heavy and the wind is cold, I enjoyed them instead.

Back on the road…no other route but to pass through Trinidad (the veggies “bagsakan” ). Traffic is usually bad in this place. In fact it took us 30 minutes to get away. Mrs. Marcy told me Trinidad is the gateway for most businesses in the place thus the heavy traffic. I suggest you bring out your packed snacks, a.k.a. “patience” on this part of travel.

This time I am now traveling with Wagah and his family on their van. On the way, I decided to sleep, sleep and sleep to forget about dizziness. But before even reaching Sabangan (half way to Sagada), there goes my Mc Do breakfast meal. It didn’t even
bonfirebonfirebonfire

this shot is a challenge..
reach the burp bag. But what a relief! It kept me wide awake (who would not be? I was seated in front) throughout the trip. I liked the view and took pictures of them. I managed to save some good shots. Go check it out.

We reached Ate Sigrid (Wagah’s older sister) and Kuya Awing’s house in Sagada at 4:45pm. Wooh hoo! It’s cold and the place is so quiet. I felt like I am off for a retreat. We gather around the bonfire while waiting for dinner. Miggy (Wagah’s nephew) offered me a glass of red wine. It was perfect! The smell was just soothing. Misty (Wagah’s niece) joined us then we had marshmallows. Dinner was served at 7 and after a while, everybody has gone to bed. I guess everybody was dead tired because of the trip. Oh (I have to mention this) I loved my room…the drapes were yellow with prints of sea shells and starfish in it… it’s so cozy just like home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb