Sun .. Sea .. Party @ Puerto Galera


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Mindoro » Sabang
December 10th 2013
Published: January 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Puerto Galera



Puerto Galera was beautiful. Mainly the place, and our dives. Most of the people were friendly, but I was a little paranoid when I was there, and Ed thought I was over-thinking some things. However, as a girl, I tend to err on the side of caution.

Ed and I kinda over-packed, and our heavy luggages were killing us. Fortunately, there were the luggage carriers from the ports. They really saved our lives and helped us with bring our luggages from the pier all the way to our dive resort, Blue Ribbon Dive Resort.

As our main aim was to dive our holiday away, we decided to stay at a dive resort to allow us the maximum convenience of moving our dive gears. As it was our first trip to Sabang Beach at Puerto Galera, we were surprised that the entire beach was lined up with dive shops, and resorts.

If we had known earlier, we would have stayed somewhere nearer to the pier and to town for the convenience of moving around and exploring the place. Unfortunately, google earth / map didn't do us justice. Even though on the map, it showed that the Blue Ribbon Dive Resort was next to the pier and town, it was about 10-15 mins walk.

As Ed was constantly exploring what the town has to offer, he would walk to town every morning and evening to find out about the different dive resorts and what the town has.


Blue Ribbon Divers




I, on the other hand, didn't dare to explore Puerto Galera that much. The vibes of the place isn't very good for ladies, if you know what I mean. It was mainly a place where men go to find fun.

Anyway, I decided on Blue Ribbon Dive Resort as most of the reviews said that they served awesome food. I had wanted somewhere I could be close to food and not worried about my next meal on land. As I suffered from a little sea sickness, I would normally go without food the entire day. Thus, dinner is one of my more important meal to replenish my energy for my dives the next day. I also didn't like the idea that I would need to hunt / travel very far for food.

In various reviews in Tripadvisors, Blue Ribbon Dive Resort was given the best review for their food, and I could not agree more. Although their main menu is mainly American, they were really good. However, as Filipinos kinda like their food slightly salty, we need to remind them to go easy on the salt. Nonetheless, the food at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort was one of the best, the number of patrons every evening speaks for it.

As for our dives, we did a couple of dives with Blue Ribbon, mostly Ed, as I was trying to conserve as much energy as possible for the rest of the trip (I'm not too good a traveller, tend to get exhausted easily), when we travel over to Palawan for El Nido and Coron.

Hence, Ed went with them for the night dives and a couple of day dives. I only did one with them - Coral Bay, my 1st dive of this trip. Even though the visibility wasn't very good, we still managed to see many animals - electric clams, trumpet fish, puffer fish ... and many more. Ed went on a night dive with them, and he was back with so many exciting stories and video (do hope that he could finish his video editing soon. Can't wait for those photos.)


Capt n Gregg's & Verde Islands




As for our 2nd day there, Ed decided that he wanted to see more and went off to hunt for a dive shop that was willing to bring us out to Verde Islands. As I did not read up much for this trip, I just went with the flow and was fine with anything.

After asking around for a while, he realised that most of those dive shop that were going to Verde Islands had left for the day, we eventually managed to hire a private boat with Capt n Gregg's to take us there to dive. It was our first private dive trip out to Verde Islands, and I was kinda glad that Ed made that decision, as we had an awesome time at Verde Island.

Although visibility wasn't as good as the time I was at Bohol, it was much better as compared to Coral Bay, and there were alot more marine life there. As Ed had not seen much tropical fish, he was very excited over the dives and enjoyed himself tremendously.

I, on the other hand, had some camera issues, and I was feeling very frustrated as I wasn't able to take any proper photos. I could not remember the settings that I had made for the last trip in Bohol, and no matter what I did, I could not get the right photography setting underwater. After a few tries, I managed to get it to work minimally, so that I was at least able to take some decent photographs.

Despite all that, it had been an awesome and fun dive for us that day. Ed was so excited and was having so much fun that he continued with Blue Ribbon Divers for a couple more dives. As we had another full day of traveling the next couple of days, I parked myself at the restaurant and pig myself away ^_^


Extra Information about Puerto Galera



There are many beaches at Puerto Galera, and I decided to choose Sabang Beach as the reviews mentioned that there were alot more dive resorts available at this beach, and it was so true. The entire beach was practically lined up with dive shops and resorts that you are literally spoilt for choice.

I had some friends who had gone to white beach and they told me that it was very touristy. As I had not been there myself, I could only depend on them and the reviews I've read online.

However, a word of caution for lady friends - this place is a little messy, more of a play place for men. There are alot of pubs and clubs, there is even a floating bar in the middle of the sea. As I was too paranoid and over-cautious, Ed didn't force me to go and check it out (maybe he did on his own, I shall ask him about it another time).

Ed did mention that he had an unpleasant encounter during one of the massage. As he had gone on his own (as it was pretty late at night), the masseur offered extra service. As he had just wanted a pure massage to soothe his aching muscles, he turned it down. However, the lady countered that should be wants to continue with just massage, he still need to pay her more than what she had said earlier on. He came back to the resort feeling cheated and frustrated.

So to all guys out there, you might want to state your stand clear before your massage session begins. Or maybe bring a female friend or partner along to prevent them from forcing such services on you.

But if you are looking for such things, there you go. You know where to find them, they are almost everywhere in Puerto Galera.

In my next blog, I shall recount our long travel from Puerto Galera to El Nido. It was one long journey, but it was definitely worth it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



6th January 2014

Blowing bubbles
We enjoyed our diving in the Philippines.
6th January 2014

Blowing Bubbles
Hi Dave & Merry, thanks. The dive was awesome, I would really like to go back there again. But this time, maybe with more guy friends. Do hope to read more about your dive trips too ^_^
6th January 2014

Dive!
Let me know if you're going back. I want to try diving in the Apo Reef, which is also near Mindoro. The problem is it's too expensive to do it alone, and I can't find someone to tag along.
6th January 2014

Dive!
Hi Jay, thanks for the offer. I will definitely take you up on it! I was going to write about my trip to Coron! Apo Reef is want of those places where I would really like to go back and check it out. Suddenly realised that 2 weeks in Philippines was just not enough.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb