Earthquake Update - I am fine


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Mindoro » Puerto Galera
March 26th 2010
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Metro ManilaMetro ManilaMetro Manila

Tomorrows desintation. Makes you glad to be alive doesn't it?
Hello!

This is just a short message to let you all know I am fine in yesterdays 6.1 Mindoro Earthquake. It struck the island I am staying on and caused 6-7m tsunamis across the bay all the way to Manila (and unfortunately to the pier I am due to arrive on tomorrow).

There is some damage in Metro Manila area but as of yet, no one has been reported dead. It happened during the day and was pretty large, so most felt it and got out of buildings ok. Many fear the worst is still to come however so I will be sure to report back asap any other news.

I also got stranded in the ocean during my Manila-Mindoro crossing for a few hours as my grossly-overloaded ferry split in two and lost its engine/propellor. Thankfully myself, and my laptop, survived due to a passing boat saving everyone onboard.

I am starting to get seriously pissed off at the level of bad luck occurring over here (or good luck being saved from broken ferries and earthquakes) but either way I am trying to get a flight back to China asap. It is incredibly hot and beautiful
My island of MindoroMy island of MindoroMy island of Mindoro

A few miles from my sheltered bay
here but sandcastles and cards on the beach is freaking boring alone and I hate it. I am trying to enjoy myself as best as I can but I am very lonely. I will write the best of my time here in Mindoro asap when I don’t have to pay to use wifi (!)

Missing you all!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

More Metro ManilaMore Metro Manila
More Metro Manila

Looks like fun fun fun.


26th March 2010

Glad to hear you're okay, looking on the positive side, you can add it to the list of experiences and bragging rights

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb