Manila, Part One


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 14th 2013
Published: December 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I pull in to Manila after a somewhat cramped Tiger Airways flight (the previous blog was written with the laptop screen at 45 degrees and only semi visible). It’s 9pm and unlike Singapore, as soon as I step outside of the airport I can tell that this place is different. I’m not sure if the term 3rd world is appropriate for Manila's Ninoy Aquino airport, but for the Philippines in general it is, and you get a sniff of it when you step outside and see the non-branded food stalls and cab hustlers.

Now I should say the purpose of the Philippines leg of my trip was singular: to help with Typhoon Yolanda (known abroad as Haiyan) victims by doing relief work. A few complications means that nothing however is organised on this front, so I’m kind of in limbo and it feels that way. More on this later.

My Filipino friends pick me up from the airport and we have a bit of a chat, drink and eat in Makati City, which appears to be a business hub if not the business hub of Manila. This one friend in particular I haven’t seen for a very long time despite regular contact, so it’s a bit nostalgic. I’m actually staying at one of their places so we crash there afterwards.

Manila feels kind of strange to me, and I’m not used to it yet, but I solve this how I always solve culture shock or that feeling of lostness abroad: I go eat at KFC and McDonalds. I know it’s a lame thing to do but it just helps me feel grounded when I’m first in a new place. I’ll slowly put my tentacles out into more local cuisines and eateries.

Tomorrow I'll go out and see more of this big bustling place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb