It's Time To Say Goodbye


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
April 10th 2013
Published: April 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I've joked about it before but I really do love chilling in airports. I don't know why but I love to just people watch and roam around, curl up in a ball and fall asleep w somewhere and wake up the hustle of bustle maneuvering around you. Eating creepy food you pay to much for and always o. A quest to find and outlet or bathroom or cheaper crappier food. It's probably sounds sarcastic but its not. I really do enjoy me a good night in an airport.

That is exactly what I'm doing. I've been in the Manila International Airport, Terminal 1 since 3 am. It is currently 1:40pm and my flight leaves at 3:05 pm. you see I took a bus in from Sagada which arrived in Manila at 3 am. I refuse to pay a hostel $8 for a few hours of sleep so instead I popped on over to the airport and made myself a little nest.

I slept near the wall by some deserted counters. Sure theatre are chairs but they we all taken. Besides the floor is way more comfortable. I threw my sarang over me and curled up clutching my backpack which was strangely comfortable.

The hustle and bustle was no joke. People were snaked all around me, some taking notice of me others not. I just rolled over and fell back to sleep. Eventually I got up and meandered more. I drank coffee from a squishy cup that amused people and seeked out the only outlet on the entire floor to plug in little old iPad mini.

Around noon I was finally able to check in and through the gates I went only meander around on this side of the terminal. The time has given me the opportunity to reflect. Yah it is corny but I've thought all about my time in South East Asia. It's been a hell of a ride to say the least.

The next adventure is already starting. I'll be in India before I know it becoming a yogi master. Ok not a yogi master but learning the tricks of the trade to teach others.

S.E. Asia you've n been good to me and I'm going to miss you terribly! Thanks a bunch and see you in the future!

Advertisement



10th April 2013

Hello!
Hello Erin! I somehow, just started getting your travel blogs after not hearing from you in a long time. I love what you are doing but I am not sure what you HAVE been doing. You spent time in the Peace Corp. I think and now you're traveling around by yourself? What are you onto next? and for how long will you be traveling about? Good luck to you and be safe. Lucille
10th April 2013

I am so glad you can get comfortable on an airport floor! Certainly not many people can do what you do and actually make it sound alright. You my dear have the perfect temperament to travel the world on a shoe-string. Your time in Asia sounds pretty incredible and I am so glad you shared it with your informative and witty writing. On to India, and what will surely be another interesting adventure!
10th April 2013

Hello Erin,
I've discovered your blogs today and have enjoyed reading a few. I look forward to reading about your quest to become a yogi master...ok, maybe not, but enough to teach a few things. Great adventures. Keep those blogs coming.

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb