Cool boy or cowboy?


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
January 4th 2011
Published: January 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! I just found out that the hotel has Internet in the lobby and we have a few minutes so I'm going to try to quickly update what's been going on. The flight was fine, except the in flight entertainment system only worked for a couple of hours (I watched Salt and Big Bang Theory, but no Eat, Pray Love for me). It was weird because it was dark the entire flight and I'm still having trouble getting adjusted. On the plane I had pork adobo for breakfast with rice and eggs and it was pretty good. After we landed and got our luggage, Uncle Rey (Uncle Mar's nephew) picked us up in their car. The driving is crazy here! There seems to be no dedicated lanes and cars just drive wherever there is an opening. Hats off to uncle Rey for a pretty impressive display of driving. It took about an hour to get to uncle mar's apartment (which after asking several times I'm still not sure where it's located, or at least how to say it). Despite just having had to sit for 18 hours on the plane, I would have been content to sit in that car ride for another 18--taking in all of the scenery and happenings of the people as we drove by was an amazing experience in and of itself. So much was going on. Kids were playing some card game on the sidewalk, motorcycles weaving in and out of dense traffic, roosters staring me down from the streets. Even now as I write about it, it feels like I'm describing something I read about and not actually witnessed.

Anyways, once we arrived at uncle mar's house, we met uncle rey's wife and several other family members. And of course, a giant meal was waiting for us! Adobo, pork sausage, salted red egg, & rice. I'm not sure what time this was-it felt like late afternoonish to me but it must have been closer to 9:00 am-but uncle mar offered me a beer to go with "breakfast.". It sounded perfect to go with the meal and it was a popular Filipino brand so why not, I accepted. Don't worry, I drank my orange juice after I was finished to wash the delicious meal down. During the meal, we were talking about where we would be staying. Uncle Rey must have had some concerns about whether it would be ok with me if we stayed at the house our last two nights (which was more than fine by me). Uncle Mar replied "oh Dylan is a cool boy, he will stay anywhere.". Auntie then turned to me and said, " a cowboy? You ride horses?". Maybe some day.

After breakfast, while missing Mr.Boy, I heard some meowing from the neighbors house. I went to the street and found a tiny kitten (smaller than Kopi when we first got him). This Little guy was playing in the street and I was terrified when a motorcycle flew by him. The kitten and two of his buddies found shelter in the tire well of a parked car.

By 11:00 we were off to Manila to our hotel, the Pearl Manila Hotel, where we will be staying for two nights. I was feeling exhausted and had a headache when we got there, but I took some advil, drank some water, brushed my teeth, and took a shower, and felt great after that. Auntie Myra stopped by and we chatted with her for a little bit. Everyone's just relaxing now. I didn't want to sleep in hopes that I can get my body on Manila time, hence the longer-than-planned travel blog.

Tomorrow we are off to Corrigedor. Hopefully tomorrow night I'll have another post for those who are bored enough to read it. I'm going to go find papa now...

Advertisement



4th January 2011

A Red Dead Redemption Cowboy?
Who knew you were such a good writer? I really enjoyed reading your first entry! Can you bring me home all three Pinoy kittens? I will name them Pacquiao, Negros, and Adobo. Or Hank. Who's going to be sticking their fingers and hands into your photos now? Has Trey Ratcliffe ever been to the Phillippines? I'm sick. I am actually losing my voice. I finished Marley & Me. I cried, hysterically like at the end of Toy Story 3. You should have seen the look Kopi gave me. It was so funny, I took a picture.
4th January 2011

Dude I had no idea you were going to the Phillipenes! have an awesome time!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb