Mabuhay Germany: Wurst Day Ever


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
October 9th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mabuhay Germany!Mabuhay Germany!Mabuhay Germany!

Stalls early in the morning
So it's not a promising title for a fun day but I had so much wurst at the festival I have already broken many times over my vow to be a vegetarian while taking medication for hyperacidity. I even had beer again (but just one glass)! The German-Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (GPCCII) is holding the 3rd German expo at the Bonifacio High Street, Taguig, east of Makati in Metro Manila. This year's event, which ends today, is dubbed "Mabuhay Germany!"

"Mabuhay" is a Filipino term roughly meaning "long live" or "welcome," although it doesn't really get much verbal mileage except for welcoming foreigners or in tourism slogans. Usually we just say "welcome."

Anyway, I went there with Pri -- one of my classmates in Goethe-Institut -- his German boyfriend Matthias, and their labrador Cooper, who couldn't get enough of playing with other dogs. I got a bag from the German embassy after correctly answering that MP3 is a German invention. Yay! So much for having too much useless knowledge.

In the afternoon, there was a table football competition. The Goethe-Institut ladies lost. Aww.

...

Addendum (12.Oktober.2010):

I didn't realize how many people I know in real life actually read this blog! Oh wow. Parang nahiya tuloy ako bigla magsulat. Hehehehe.

Anyway, Pri asked me to grab some of her photos from her Facebook account and add them to this blog. Last Saturday I went home early because I had a shoot early the next day, so I wasn't able to attend the concert later that night and take more pictures. Natürlich I wasn't able to go the next day either.

So there. I added some of Pri's photos.

Okay, I just have to say this. Natürlich is my Lieblingswort. I don't know why. I just like how it sounds. Natürlich Natürlich Natürlich Natürlich... I can go on til morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 93, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



29th October 2010

I love Wurst
Ich liebe Wurst. Grusse aus Hawaii Is this festival once a year? How did you hear about it? Thanks Stanley
30th October 2010

Deutschkurs student
I'm a student at the Goethe-Institut Philippinen and I have a classmate who's a friend of the organizer. It was also promoted during one of our classes. Yep, the fair itself is held once every year though there are a host of other Germany-related events every October. Yey. Wurst rules!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb