Jona's Wedding


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 31st 2005
Published: December 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we started off by going to the parlor in the morning. Mom, Tita MIla and I had our hair and make up done with manicures and pedicures. It was about a P3,000 which is about $60 for ALL THREE of us! I was laughing so hard. It was really nice though. I told Tita Mila that I want to have another pedicure and manicure before I leave. She was telling us about the foot spa and they will give you a pedicure and manicure with a foot, leg, and back massage while you are in the chair and you will only pay max P400 (which is about $8). I want to bring the salon back with me! Anyway, from there we went back to the house to have lunch and get ready.

The wedding was really nice. The church was beautiful - I took some pictures that I will have to show all of you. It was a traditional Filipino wedding with the presentation of the gifts and the blessing of the coins, rope and veil. Surprisingly the wedding wasn't super long but they took picutres before the recessional which I tought was a bit strange. Their recessional song was Seasons of Love. It was cute. The reception followed in Makati, which is like the business district of Manila. It's very modern over there. The reception was in a tent next to the Power Plant Mall which is a super high end mall with Louie Vitton, Deisel, Kate Spade, etc. The wedding had a beach theme since Jona and Alma both love the beach. They had a station for fake tatoos for the kids. My Uncle Max and Tita Dani were there (they are on the Paca side). They just came back from Bankok from visiting Anna (my cousin) and her new baby. Mom and I wanted to try to get to Bankok while we're here, but because we are traveling so much in the Philippines I won't really have time to go. I think Mom and Tita Mila are going to go after I leave - I'm a little jealous. Tita Dani and Uncle Max insist thay we go and we can stay with Ate Anna while were there (Ate just means older female sibling/cousin and Cuya is for males). But Mom and Baby are good.

There are so many necies and nephews here, I am having trouble keeping thier names straight. But I think I have most of the Villanueva apo's straight (apo is grandchild, villanueva is my mom's sisters family). Millai's daughter Iyanna (4 years, she was at Annabell's wedding). Millies kids - Rico (2 years) and Bella (6 years). And Mikeys Kids - Zoe (9 years), Migo (4 Years) and I can't remember the little girl in the middle.

Anywho, Mom and I had to leave the reception early becuase the jet lag was really bad. I was falling asleep at my table. I woke up at 4:30am this morning (2:30pm Chicago Time). It's now 6:13am (4:13pm Chicago Time). Mom and I really have to try to stay awake today because it's new years eve! Our plan for today is to go to Green Hills (I called it Greenfields in the last blog) and do some shopping. Millai is going to pick Mom and I up and take us there and whereever else she wants to take us. Tonight most of the family is coming over for the new years party, it should be tons of fun with the kids.

I hope everyone has a very safe and happy new year! I will blog with you all in 2006!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.2322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb