23 Hours and 40 Minutes


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 29th 2005
Published: December 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

From the time our plane took off in Chicago and we landed in Manila it was 23 hours and 40 Minutes of traveling. I really don't want to go home because I don't want to get back on the plane! Really, it wasn't so bad. Thd flight was a little crowded and there were so many baby's but lucky they weren't sitting too close to where mom and I were. I watched wedding crashers 3 times, the fantastic four twice and this other movie with john cusak - I think it was called must love dogs. They had monitors on the back of the seat and our own remote controls that were embedded in the armrest that you can detach. They had games and stuff on there too. Mom and I played "Tetrix" - I think they meant "Tetris" - and there was tick tack toe (what they called noughts and crosses) and Connect four, they called it four in a row. They also had a channel that you can monitor the flight route and it would tell you how many hours were left in the flight the estimated time of arrival in Tokyo and the local time from where we took off. I thought we were going to fly east but we flew west and it wasn't straight over it arched to pass over candad, I assume so they can fly over land longer just in case something might happen. There was a camera mounted on the belly of the plane so you can change the moitor channel to see what you were flying over. I mostly saw clouds, some ocean here and there.

When we first took off I fell asleep when I woke up I checked the flight route to see how far we had gone and only and hour had passed - that's when I knew it was going to be a long flight. It wasn't so bad....I kept busy with movies and playing games, doing my puzzle book and listening to my new mp3 player (thanks glen!). It was strange thought we didn't see night time until we took off in tokyo. It was daylight for almost 18 hours of our trip almost like having our own summer soltice. I didn't need the patch or dramamine surprisingly. I was wearing my sea bands for the majority of the flight though. I ended up taking a dramamine before the flight to tokyo though, it helped. When we landed in tokyo i saw a sign that said smoking rooms - i was so happy I blurted "Thank you, Jesus!", Mom just started laughing at me. I didn't have that much trouble on the flight with having"nic fits" it was just when we landed.

Once we landed in Manila we had to go through immigration which didn't take long but by that time all I wanted to do was get to Tita Milas. The airport was completely decorated with chrismas things. They had white trees (I assume to resemble snow?) with the seashell lanters like we have at my parents house - they are everywhere here. Same thing with the seashell stars (the one dad has hanging at the house). Then there was this big sign that read "Welcome to Bird Flu Free Philippines" Mom and I just laughed. Getting our luggage was a treat in itself. And it was funny all you see coming off of the belt were huge boxes - I guess everyone was bringing things home from the states. Once we got our luggage we had to exit the airport and take a bridge over to this area that was designated for your families to pick you up. You went left for last names A-L and right for M-Z. It was a freaking mad house! There was a street in the middle for loading and whtever with a bridge over it and there were people all lined against the fences on two levels. It was like being in a parade with crows the size of time square on new years (or at least that's what it seemed like). It's hard to explain.

Tita mIla and Auntie Helen picked us up. And Tita Mila's driver took us back to thier house. (yeah they have drivers and maids here - it's so weird for me not to just go get my own glass of water). The streets here are like alleys almost. I don't know how two cars can fit on them and there are people on bikes everywhere (the motorized bikes with the side car). It's kind of funny. I saw a jeepney and mom asked me if I wanted to ride in it. I think I'll pass!

It's between 25-30 degrees celcius here (about 75-80 degree farenheight) with a humidity of about 80%. So it's pretty warm. There is only air conditioning in the bedrooms though. I am not sweating as mich as I though I would be but there are people here in long sleeves!!! They think it's cold!!!! Uncle Mike was saying that when thay are golfing they have to wear jackets when the sun goes down because it gets cold. I started laughing and told him that i would still only be wearing a tank top.

So today I don't think we will be doing much. We'll probably just rest a bit, maybe do some shopping. Tomorrow is going to be a bit crazy with Jonas wedding. We have appointments at the salon in the morning for hair, makeup, manicures and pedicures and then the wedding is at 2:00pm followed by reception.

I'll make sure to take lots of pictures here! I do appologize for rambling - there is so much more I want to tell everyone but the sun is calling my name! Do remind me to tell you about the bathrooms in tokyo (I'll try to take a picture, I wanted to before but I felt rude).

Until next time! I miss you all!

P.S. Everyone here says hello to the family back home...They all were a little sad you all couldn't make it but Tita Mila and UNcle MIke are building a new house that Millai designed about an hour away from here. Tita Mila said you all can stay out there when you come. The plans are really nice!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb