Goodbye Philippines!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
April 15th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Crazy chainsaw manCrazy chainsaw manCrazy chainsaw man

Checkout the safety gear!
It’s a sad but happy moment. Leaving the Philippines and VSO and going on to the next adventure.

In Lanuza I have been busily packing all my things ready for shipping to the UK so that I can travel light - after all a 8foot surfboard would have been right out of place as I travel through Urumqi in western China its the city that is farthest from any ocean! To make the packing boxes and crates I got a tree cut up which was good fun. The chainsaw operator was crazy, bare feet, no protective gear and a 70cc saw!

With my colleagues from work I made an exit presentation what went well, achievements, what needs more work that sort of thing. Then some very touching speeches and finally a good lunch with kinilaw (raw fish) and Lechon (roast pig) both Filipino delicacies that are unlike anywhere else! Kathy from the VSO office was there to film it for posterity - cringe.

On my last evening we had a BBQ at my house with my neighbors and friends dropping by. The Kinilaw prepared by Melva from next door was probably the best ever (its one of those
Plaque of appreciationPlaque of appreciationPlaque of appreciation

Recieveing a plaque of appreciation from Romy my co-worker for the last two years. On the left is the Mayor.
foods that I will miss from the Philippines). The new volunteer for Lanuza arrived in time for dinner and a quick handover chat so Lanuza will be carrying on as a VSO partner.

Sunday morning we loaded up the jeep for the ride up to the ferry in Surigao city. to make my last trip up the rough road a proper experience it rained all the way so it was a bit of a mud bath! Then overnight on the ferry to Cebu and checking my crates in for shipping. Lots of crazy paperwork later the boxes are on the way to the UK and I take a quick flight on to Manila.

One day in Manila to sort out the final office reports etc and a surprise big cake moment in the office with all the VSO staff.

So this evening closes the chapter on a fantastic couple of years. This time tomorrow I will be in Japan at the beginning of a whole new adventure.

To everyone in the Philippines who made my stay fantastic THANK YOU and now that I am not there PLEASE KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Martyred pig Martyred pig
Martyred pig

A good lechon for my despidida lunch. Its a nice honour to have a roast pig organised for a leaving do.
Boxes for shippingBoxes for shipping
Boxes for shipping

My stuff sat on a pallet on the dockside in cebu (with me sat on top)
Thr VSO office teamThr VSO office team
Thr VSO office team

My suprise cake moment in the VSO office - Thanks guys.


15th April 2008

Take that!
The rains must be an expression of loss for someone who has shared a slice of his life to Lanuza and is now leaving! You have given more hope to the people of Lanuza. What you have left is an indelible mark in their hearts and minds. Home is where the heart is. I know when you get back to Lanuza... you would be home... again! And Lanuza would be rushing to welcome you back. Good luck!
15th April 2008

To new adventures
Great job you did in the Philippines and thanks for sharing. Good luck on your new adventure!
15th April 2008

Thanks for your great work in Philly. From a Filippina abroad.
1st May 2009

A year ON??????
Hey Matthew, I thought I'd type a quick message to thank you for sharing us your adventures and fantastic work in Lanuza and Southern Philippines. I just wondered how you are getting on with life back home here in the UK a year on after such fab time and hard-work in The Philippines. It would be great to just hear what you are up to now these days. I am contemplating on going back to my homeland in the next couple of years to do a soul-searching intrepid travel. I really want to hear your stories of southern Philippines as I am originally from up north and have never ventured down south. I would be grateful if you could e-mail me and let me know if this is possible. I don't know where you live in the UK but I am in Brighton. All the best and hope to hear from you shortly!!! Loumer

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb