January 8, 2008 - in Manila again


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
January 8th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I spent the whole day in Tarlac today. I got up at 6:30am, took the light rail to EDSA station and from there took a Victory Line bus to Tarlac to see some relatives. The trip was shorter than I thought, 3 hours as opposed to 4. I had lunch there at a great restaurant owned by my cousins. From there we spent some time hanging out with more family members, then for a couple of hours hung out at this monastery on this mountaintop. Great scenery. There was a giant statue of Jesus overlooking the mountain like the one in Rio de Janeiro.

Coming back was a bit stressful. My idea was just to have some coffee with relatives, but it ended up with a 10 person dinner at Max's fried chicken. I took the Victory line back and got in Manila around 11pm. I was counting on the bus to make its last stop at the place where I picked it up. It didn't. I happened to notice it on time and got off. The light rail stopped running so I was out on my own. I took a taxi to Malate. A 15 minute ride for 150 pesos ($3). I'm sure I got ripped off again, but then I was tired and desperate. I had been on my feet all day. I found a better hotel at Rothman Hotel, for $42 or 1,700 pesos.

Tomorrow is my last day here. I miss the beach already. Manila is OK. It has nightlife and everything, and stuff to do but I really miss Puerto Galera.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb