Time out


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Luzon » Metro Manila
December 22nd 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Stairway to HeavenStairway to HeavenStairway to Heaven

Looking up to the street. Going down whilst wet and in sandles is no mean feat - hate to be coming home half cut
Well it's happened - got the dreaded Manila Belly - forgot to use bottled water when brushing my teeth. At least that's my first suspect - doubt it was anything I drank only drink Colt 45 and Iced Tea. Now I'm laid up in bed for the day - too frightened to venture too far from the dunny.

The other day I mentioned where Arthur (Squish's brother lives) and his wife's reluctance to have us see and even greater reluctant to post pics of their lifestyle on this blogs.

I still plan to honour that, but she has been kind enough to allow me to post pics of the walk from the road to their home. The day we visited it was wet all the way down despite being a dry day - well as dry as the humidity here allows anyway. Apparently the reason for this is that people simply shower in the lane.

Inside is not a lot better - bare floors and bare concrete or plywood wall.

To give you a sense of Arthur's position he has his own business as a chauffeur and tour guide. So I guess that puts him in
Closer to homeCloser to homeCloser to home

This is the last stretch to Art's home
the middle class bracket in our frame of reference. I am so happy for him and his family that they have been able to get enough together to move out to the burbs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Looking out my Back DoorLooking out my Back Door
Looking out my Back Door

The view from Art's door


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb