Cebu


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Cebu and was pleasantly surprised. Much more my cup o tea than Manila. I was really interested in the history of the place so had a nosey round Fort Santiago, and Magellans cross Monument - apparently containing fragments of the original cross that Magellan used.
Decided to start talking witht the locals, but remembered that Pinoys don't understand a Lancashire accent. I decided to experiment and talk like John Wayne to see if I was understood. Unbelievably it worked!!
I then tried to speak the Tagalog I've been learning over the past couple of years, only to realise that in Cebu they speak Cebuano!!!!
Still, at least I tried.
I highly recommend visitors trying to speak the lingo - the locals love that your making the effort and taxi drivers realise that you haven't just disembarked the plane!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Fort SantiagoFort Santiago
Fort Santiago

Spanish Guns


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb