A swim with the gentle giants of the south.


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Oslob
May 23rd 2015
Published: May 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post


Meet my buddy blue whaley :)
When I was a kid, I am fond of watching National Geographic Channel (NGC) especially covers about the mysteries of the deep blue waters of this planet. It was through that show that I encountered the term "Marine Bioligist". I told myself that one day, those marine bioligists featured in NGC will be my colleagues someday. Well, let's just say that the probability of that day to happen is remote because I happened to be a graduate of accounting course and I am employed in the 4th largest universal bank in the Philippines.

Anyway, let's cut the chase and proceed to my experience swimming with the gentle giants of the queen city of the south or "Butanding" as the locals call it. It is located at Tan-awan, Oslob, Cebu City, Philippines and takes about five hours to reach the place from Cebu City proper. We were given two (2) options to experience it. You may remain at the boat (local term bangka) and just enjoy sight seeing the whale-sharks swim by or you may take off your life vests and swim with them and may take pictures underwater with them at your background.

After swimming with the whale sharks

My friends and I chose to swim than stay at the bangka :)
of Oslob, we proceeded to a nearby waterfall called "Tumalog Falls". We rode a motorcycle towards the falls. The view is breathtaking and the water is cold - perfect to beat the summer heat. We chose to visit Oslob as day-trippers since we would like to maximize our weekend vacay because Cebu City has a lot more to offer apart from the magnificent whale sharks of Oslob. Thus, we took off and rode a bus back to the city proper at about 4:00pm.

One thing I learned about this experience is that once you're passionate about something, no matter where stand in life, you can always find happiness and a dwelling place by going back to doing the things you're passionate about. So.... carry on....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



A part of Tumalog Falls not the fall itself though.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb