Carnage in Rawalpindi


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Islamabad
December 27th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I just received a text message from my friend Maddie in England, telling me that Benazir Bhutto has been killed about an hour ago in Rawalpindi - Islamabad's neighbouring city, a mere 15 km apart - in a suicide bomb attack. As my TV in the hotel doesn't work, I went down to reception, only to have these news confirmed by the ashen-faced receptionists. Everybody is standing around in silence, not quite knowing what to say or do.

I'm feeling rather shocked. I was supposed to be in Rawalpindi this afternoon - I had planned to go to the bazaars in the Old City - but then changed my plans because I felt tired and wanted to check out a few guesthouses in Islamabad. Only this morning I wrote into my journal how much I am enjoying the peace in Islamabad, but that somehow it felt almost too calm, as though there was a storm brewing up underneath the surface. I wrote 'I'm constantly aware of what bubbles beneath the surface - that things could blow up at any time.'

I feel very sad about Benazir Bhutto and the people who lost their lives in the attacks. May they rest in peace.

Advertisement



27th December 2007

I've just seen it on bbc news, awful. Thank god you didn't go there. Take care x
28th December 2007

Thinking of you
Dear Tiziana In the scariness of all that is now going on in Pakistan we are thinking of you and holding you in our thoughts and prayers. with love and blessings Kathy
29th December 2007

Thank you
Thank you Kathy, it is much appreciated. With love, Tiziana

Tot: 0.427s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 18; qc: 85; dbt: 0.3062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb