Day #9 - Namche to Tengboche Pt 1


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Namche
November 24th 2012
Published: December 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had the best nights sleep so far, but still not managing a normal straight 7 or 8 hours that I was expecting, despite the exercise. The Himalaya is a very dry climate - difficult to believe with the rivers and snow around. The result of this is that you wake up several times a night with a very dry throat, which a swig or two of chilled water by your beside relieves for a few hours. I am expecting this to "condition" to worsen as we get higher.

My bags are packed early for the trek out out Namche. Feeling good about the days journey ahead.

The first 10 steps or so out of the hotel feel hard work, and remind me of the lower levels of oxygen I still haven't go used to - another "condition" that will also worsen as we get higher. I am immediately out of breath, but as we progress uphill and out of the village my breathing settles into a good rhythm to propel me along. With the sun on my back I begin to put some distance between me and Namche.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0168s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb