Day #7 - Exhausted in Namche - but nice View


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Namche
November 22nd 2012
Published: November 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

We eventually arrive at our lodge in time for lunch. By this time I had run out of water, had really bad back ache, a heavy headache, hugely fatigued and when lunch arrived, only ate half of it. This read like a list of symptoms for Altitude sickness – and this worried me.

After lunch I retired to my room to rest and contemplate my recovery and admire the view from my room. I downed a 1 litre bottle of water, a snickers bar and a “Magic Pink” (Ibobrufen) tablet my beloved wife had packed for days like this. After resting for two hours I was much improved, and after a further two hours on catching up with my blogging I felt better than I had done since Kathmandu! Far from suffering altitude sickness, my ailment was most likely as a result of dehydration. My shopping list the following morning was definitely going to include two one litre bottles of water.

With my appetite truly returned I wolfed down a vegetable chowmein and apple pie (now a staple favourite of mine in Nepal) and spent the evening catching up with my blogging before retiring to an unusually warm room and sleeping bed. Whilst still not a good nights sleep, it was much improved over the other nights – and not a whiff of kerosene either.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb