Nagarkot Sunrise


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Nagarkot
May 3rd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

"Oh man, it's total gridlock!" "Oh man, it's total gridlock!" "Oh man, it's total gridlock!"

Stuck in a traffic jam on a narrow, winding mountain road.
We booked what ended up being a pricey trip, but that promised to be worth it. So, we were driven for an hour up to Paradise Inn in Nagarkot. Meals and transfers were included in the price, and we had a balcony overlooking the mountains. It was beautiful, relaxing, and a world away from the bustling streets of Kathmandu.

Ram told me how, during the civil war, Maoist rebels had hidden in the mountains of Nagarkot. The war lasted ten years (1996 - 2006) and saw the deaths of approximately 15,000 people. Although it ended in a peace agreement, the Maoists' new-found political recognition brought about the abolition of the 240 year-long monarchy in 2008, after it having already fallen to decline in 1991, by way of political reforms. Nepal is now a federal republic.

At 5am, Ram woke me up so that we could watch the sunrise. I don't do mornings, so he had his work cut out for him, but after a few tantrums from my side, he succeeded. We proceeded to the rooftop to watch the sun's rays spread beautiful colours across the clouds and mountains. It truly was a sight, and I was amazed and slightly disappointed at how quickly it was over. Needless to say, though, I returned to my bed.

Having been vegetarian for two weeks in India, I decided to reintroduce meat into my diet. My reason is simple: when Ram recommended and ordered barbecued mutton, I couldn't resist. So, I'm keeping with this, I attempted chicken on the night we arrived in Nagarkot. Clearly, that was the straw that broke the camels back. I was curled up all morning with stomach cramps, having to run to the bathroom every ten minutes. In addition, I had a splitting headache. Fun times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb