The Mountains are awake!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 26th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SO.... I've taken every bodies advice and I'm relaxing! -- I've been reading, walking around Kathmandu, taking photographs & catching up with old friends. I have so much to write about! -- The Strike that wasn't a strike... The Maoists (Now referred to as the Communist Dogs)... The dinner I had with a Civil Engineer working in Nepal, an Irish bloke, with a straight face talks about blasting 600 meter tunnels 8 meters in diameter & having thousands of pounds of explosives at his disposal, cutting a 300 meter shaft 6 meters in diameter straight down into a mountain, oh we cut that one by hand & hearing about the 200KW Genset being carried through the hills if Nepal in pieces -- the biggest piece was the engine block 120KG (264 lb) carried by ONE MAN...



But most importantly are the Himalayas are out every morning! My view is back again!


This photograph doesn't do justice to what I used to wake up in the morning to as a child, my window faced north -- and the stitched photograph you see is the same thing I woke up to every morning as a kid. The Kathmandu hills in fore ground and the Himalayas in the back ground. There is one in particular to take view of -- you'll see it again!



This is on the way to Everest -- and under better viewing conditions -- one could photograph Mt Everest from both my Old and New house! Words cannot express how lucky I've been! -- Not only to experience Nepal as a child, but to have the ability to come back and enjoy my parents, photograph Nepal & trek to the Base Camp.


It's pushing 11pm here -- and I need my beauty sleep -- I have a big day tomorrow -- I"m off to continue photographing flowers for Maggie Shaw, as well as what ever else I can find. I'll write more as soon.



There are more photos up at: Nepal Photos
Take Care all,
Bryan

Advertisement



27th October 2006

Hello out there
Hi, The PIX were great, the spider intrigues me. I will try to find out what it is. Bet you are having a great time. Your folks must be thrilled to see you. See you when you get back! No fun here as usual !!!!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb